Peas by the 4th of July

early peas growing in the garden

A favorite saying around here I hear from the old farmers, I didn’t think we would make it this year. Well actually we didn’t make it we had our fist taste of peas on the 6th…

This is a new variety called Early Burpeena. I planted some 2 weeks early and some right on time when the leaves were the size of mouse ears. I don’t see that they are any earlier than the other varieties I tried this year, but are they tasty.

 

Daisy's Radish

This is a small raised bed built just for Daisy, in it she planted radish, lettuce and spinach. She has kept the weeds out and watered it every day. At 6 years old she sure is a good gardener isn’t she. She tells me she doesn’t like radishes but grew some to feed her rooster, Fire Cracker.

What a sweet girl, let’s hope Puppa doesn’t spy that radish! He will be the one eating it not the rooster.

How is your garden growing?

Posted on July 11, 2012, in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I don’t have peas yet,but they are growing nicely. My onion didn’t take,nor my carrots. I will have to replant them for the fall I guess. Try to stay cool-this humidity and heat is for the birds! 🙂

  2. I hear you. This is the first year in the past few the peas are worth even looking at. I planted our first batch of carrots 3 times before they came up. Our fall batch was seeded last week and are up pretty thin, so I think I’ll try again.

Leave a Reply

