Spring Give Away-an easter egg hunt…sort of

There is a new horse here on the farm. Daisy named it lightning

Look at that juice stained smile...a tip of the cowgirl hat to you mum.

These last few weeks I have been having so much fun getting back into the swing of farm life after several months of working off the farm, so to say. Most enjoyable has been the time to dig out the soap supplies and just be creative and the kitchen counters show it.

The running joke lately is hey, Mom, whats for dinner and Dick or Daisy will answer soap of course… 🙂

Marshmallow pie anyone?

In our Etsy shop I have reduced the cost of several bars, and I would like to give some of it away. I had such a great time with the give away I did at the last craft show I think I will try it here.

All you need to do is:

1. Go to our Etsy Shop, have a good look around and pick out you favorite item. While your there please “heart” our shop, and your favorite item.

2. Take a few minutes to blog/face book about the give away. Feel free to use any of the soap images if you want to. Don’t forget to link to our Etsy shop and our blog here.

3. Then come back here and tell me what you picked out and leave me a link to your post so I can check it out.

On Monday April 25th I will have Daisy help me pick out the winners. I will stop by each of your posts about the give away. I’m going on sort of an egg hunt for a word. I have already chosen  a “fun spring word” and every post I find that word in I will ship to you the item you picked out.

There may be more than one winner.  I hope every one is a winner and you could be.

Other great fun around here is the starting of the spring seedlings. A couple of weeks ago I sent Mark out to gather up the saw horses that I put up in front of the French doors in the cellar. It sure didn’t seem very spring like to me at the time.

Miss Daisy has decided to start her own plants this year. In her room she has been caring for the calendula and tomatoes on her window. She did this without help from me. I guess after watching and helping for the several years she knows what she is doing. Thats one of the wonderful things about farm life the skills are easy to learn with a bit of practice. I was so proud of her.

As soon as the mud dries up a bit we will start putting up some housing for the summer turkeys. We decided this is the year to give them a try. I think I will order a dozen of them with the hope that at least one is a Tom. I would like to over winter a Tom and two hens with the hopes they will hatch eggs for next years birds. We shall see.

I also will be ordering another dozen Delaware birds for egg production. The leghorn birds have sort of grown on me. I still think they are very dumb and I still can’t pick them up but at least now they will follow Della when she comes running to me for food. They used to run in the wrong direction. Boy do they lay some huge eggs and so they earn their keep. We have 6 chickens and all winter long we got 6 eggs a day. Not bad, it seems the solar powered lighting did its job. It was a good investment and was pretty much maintenance free all winter. Yes, we did have to brush off the panel so the sun would get to it but other than that I flicked the light switch and the girls had light. I have disconnected the light now and hooked back up the electric fence for the summer. Our small battery only has enough power to run one of the other in the winter.

cotton candy puzzle pieces

Do any of you local readers have any red wiggler worms you would like to trade with me? I am willing to ship if you are interested.

Have a wonderful day spring is almost here in the north woods.

Posted on April 19, 2011, in All About Me, Bartering, Chickens, Free For You, Lizzy Lane Farm Bonanicals. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. By red wiggler do you mean your run of the mill earthworm. If so I can certainly dig you up some if I can figure out how to safely ship them.

  2. Hi Tracey,
    Red wiggler worms are a type of worm used for composting. They are not the same as earth worms. Thank you for the offer. :0
    k

Leave a Reply

