Dilled green beans

Dilled green beans and cucumber pickles

Our freezer has more green beans than we or the chickens will ever eat this winter. It’s been a good great year for them. Over the weekend I decided to pickle a few more and it dawned on me I haven’t given you this recipe yet. I didn’t take the time to water bath these so this batch needs to stay in the fridge. 

Pickled Dill Green Beans

  • 2 pounds fresh beans, ends removed
  • 1 cup with vinegar (5%)
  • 3 cup water
  • 2 Tbl. Pickle salt
  •  2 tsp. dill weed
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 2 cloves garlic-chopped

Wash drain and trim ends of beans. Cover with boiling water and boil for 3 minutes. Pack into hot sterile jars.

In a sauce pot combine vinegar, water, salt, dill, pepper, and garlic. Bring to a boil. Pour over packed beans in jar leaving 1/2″ head space. Adjust lids and place in water bath canner. Bring to a boil then time for 10 minutes. Remove from canner and allow to cool. Wipe down jars, label and store.

You could also use this process using the bread and butter pickle recipe if you would want them sweet instead of dilled. Either way they are good. Another thing that is nice is to add red sweet pepper slices in the jars.

I am always telling Daisy don’t play with your food. But what do you tell her when the food is playing with you? These are making faces at us. One is winking and the other gives us a big silly grin… Daisy discovered this when she brought them to me this morning from the garden. She told me we have happy tomatoes. How could I scold her for picking green tomatoes with these guys looking at me?

These are Brandywine and for some reason there are a few that look like this but not all. I think it has to do with the level of water they had over our dry summer. Does any one know for sure what causes this?

I would guess that by the end of the week the majority of our tomatoes will be ready to pick and made into sauce. I froze 2 bags of chunked this weekend for sauce making later on. Ours are a few weeks behind, I planted our seedlings when they were rather small and a few weeks later than I should have. I think (hope) the weather will hold out until they ripen for us. It’s not uncommon for frost in the middle/end of September around here. I have seen snow then too…thankfully not to often though.

Posted on September 8, 2010, in Home Cooking Recipes, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

