Chocolate Zucchini Cake

This one has white chocolate in it, and it didn't hang out long enough to be frosted

I don’t know if this should be bread or cake since I use the same recipe for both. So I guess it’s up to you what you want to call it, I know I call it yummy!

With so many garden goodies going into the freezer lately there is no room for prebaked breads. I shred the squash on an old fashion grater since I don’t have a food processor. Besides it’s good for your arms to get a good work out….and I have as few electric appliances as I can get away with. I don’t have a mixer either….any way…I plop it all into a strainer to drain out the extra water then measure 2 cups per bag and freeze.

Later when I’m ready to bake I take out a bag of frozen zucchini or summer squash remove it frozen from the bag and set in a bowl to defrost in the fridge overnight. I find removing it from the bag before it defrost is easier to get out of the zip top bags.

Another tip is before I freeze the bags of zucchini I seal the bag then lay it down flat. Take my finger and draw a line down the center of the bag pushing the contents to each side and freeze it this way. This helps when I want to take it out of the bag frozen, I snap it in 1/2 inside the bag and it comes out pretty easy. Well easier than the whole block does.

Double Chocolate Zucchini Bread

  • 2 oz unsweetened baking chocolate or 6 Tbl. baking cocoa
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 cup oil (I know this is a lot of oil I use 1/2 oil and 1/2 applesauce)
  • 2 cups grated zucchini (I also use yellow crook neck squash)
  • 3/4 cups chocolate chips
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 cups flour (I use 1 cup whole wheat and 1 cup unbleached white)
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg
  • 3/4 cups chopped nuts

Set oven to 350 degrees and lightly grease 2 bread pans, 2 round cake pans or a bunt pan.

Combine eggs, sugar, oil, vanilla and chocolate., beat well. stir in flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, Fold in zucchini. Fold in chocolate chips and nuts.

Bake until done, or when a tooth pick comes out clean. Usually around 65-70 minutes. But check it sooner if you pans are smaller.

Thank you girls!

I sometime will frost this cake or drizzle a chocolate sauce over the top when in bunt form. It freezes nicely and is popular at our local bake sale.

Posted on September 3, 2010, in Home Cooking Recipes, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. that’s one beautiful cake and how nice to find another use for zuchinni!

Leave a Reply

