Corn Relish and another free canning jar label

This recipe has been kicking around the recipe box for a long time. I haven’t made it in many years and have no idea why because it is so tasty. I can see this also working very well for carrot relish and for shredded zucchini.

I spent the better part of a day last week peeling and processing a bushel full of corn I got from the farm stand. I must say this is the nicest corn I have had in a very long time.

All ready to freeze

 I put up a dozen, 12 ounce jars of relish and froze 18 bags of corn in single meal sized bags plus 2 large bags to use for corn chowder.

Corn Relish

This recipe made a dozen 12 ounce jars for me.

  • 8 cups (20 ears of fresh corn) (UNCOOKED)
  • 2 cups water
  • 3 cups chopped celery (I used 6 large stalks)
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped red sweet pepper (I used 3 large)
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped sweet green pepper ( I used 3 large)
  • 1 cup chopped onion (I left these out)
  • 2 1/2 cups white vinegar (5%)
  • 1 3/4 cups sugar
  • 4 tsp. dry mustard
  • 2 tsp. pickling salt (don’t use table salt)
  • 2 1/2 tsp celery seed
  • 1 tsp ground turmeric
  • 3 Tbl. corn starch
  • 1 Tbl. water

Husk corn and cut from cob. (do not scrape cobs) Place 8 cups of corn into a 10 quart pot and add 2 cups of water. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer covered for 4 minutes. Drain.

Put the corn back in pot and add celery, peppers, onion. Stir in vinegar, sugar, mustard, salt, celery seed and turmeric. Bring to a boil, leave uncovered and simmer for 5 minutes.

In a small cup mix together the corn starch and 2 Tbl. water. Add to corn, cook and stir until it thickens and is bubbly. Stir and cook 2 minutes longer. Turn off heat.

Fill clean hot jars leaving 1/2″ head space. Process in water bath canner 15 minutes.

And here are the tags. Let me know how you like them.

Posted on September 1, 2010, in Free For You, Gardening. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Good Evening K,

    I just noticed in your picture where you must use a knife to take the corn from the ears. I used to to that and grew up doing that. However one day about 6 years ago it dawned on me, try the Box Grater, and run the ears over the side that is used for slicing potatoes, Works Wonders! The corn comes off the cob so clean, that there is nothing lefter to scrape from the cob!

    Just my 2 cents K

    M

  2. I just stumbled upon your blog today while blog hopping. The relish looks yummy but I have to say that using the electric knife is just brilliant!!!!

    I often think of canning or freezing corn and one of the reasons I don’t is the work in cutting it all off the cob – but I’m going to this year for sure.

    Thanks

    Sandra

  3. M,
    That sounds like a great idea. I will give it a try.

    Karyn

  4. Has anyone tried this with zucchini? I have a bunch of frozen, shredded zucchini in the freezer and am looking for recipes, preferably besides bread, muffins, cake, cookies. Thanks! 🙂

  5. I make a zucchini relish that everyone just loves. Its worth doing and taste so much better than anything you could ever buy in the store.

Leave a Reply

