It’s starting!

The end of last week I had a chance to get into the new kitchen garden and get more seeds in the ground. I have yet come up with a better way to organize my seeds and other things I like to carry with me from spot to spot. Some may have pretty baskets or buckets but me I have an old shoe box that has stood the test of time for the past several years.

Jobs and work are always more pleasant when you have things you enjoy to work with. It would be so cheery to carry a pretty basket vs the old shoe box. Now that I have thought about it, I must put it on my list of things to do.

Part of what makes gardening so much fun is that you can do it your way and the results are usually the same.  I have no idea why the old pair of safety glass are in the box, just that they ended up there after soap making one day this spring.

The canning jar lid is a marker left over from last year. I had an idea to try using the old cannin jar lids as marker instead of tossing them out. Any one who knows me know I use them several time before getting rid of them and these will last a few more seasons in the garden.

I just use a marker to write on them and the ink will last most of the summer. I punched a small hole in the top with a nail and hammer then took some old copper wire I saved and used it for the hanger.

Kind of rustic and a great way to recycle those caps. The wind blows them around a bit and the sparkle from the back/gold side keeps the birds out, at least I like to think it does.

Another think I do is save the hay chafe from feeding the animals and use it for mulch. Straw around here is $7.00 a bale so my way recycles what the animals won’t eat and helps our gardening budget. If you are thinking about doing this. Toss the chafe in the air (away from the garden) a few times to get rid of the loose seeds! Ask me how I know to do this….

I pulled out a section of radish this morning to make room for some more spinach. The last that I planted bolted very quickly in the high heat the past week. Its cooler now and I can add a bit of shade cloth, that might help.

This year will bring the 8th year I have saved our Nastursham seeds. I have found to sprout them first helps. The shells on the seeds are tough so the pre-sprouting helps. Mine are the bright orange that seem to glow after dark, and they are tasty in a salad too…

French Breakfast Radish

Speaking of salad these will be part of our dinner tonight. We are having BLT sandwiches and here is the L… straight from Daisy’s garden. She cares for this garden herself everyday. She carefully picked out the rocks to go around her garden and waters it every night while I do mine.  She even has her own tiny watering can and garden tools.

Now all I have to do is talk her into letting me transplant those sunflowers before they get so big I can’t move them. I do not know what variety the lettuce is or the sun flowers. They came in a package of mixed seeds that she got for Easter.

I think gardening is something anyone at any age can do and this small patch of lettuce is a shinning example of it. As a parent/grandparent it is important to me to take the time as often as I can and make each part of the day a learning experience. Daisy is a big “why” girl and asks the question all the time. The worst answer and I hear it all the time from other parents is “because I said so, I don’t know, or just do it” Errr…growl! This is how children learn and more importantly learn to think.

Daisy brought a handful of radish into school because she was so very excited to share them with her friends. To her surprize most turned their noses up at it and didn’t even know what they were! As it turns out she/we are the only family in her class that gardens. What a shame. But the teacher was more than happy to bring them home. 🙂

This small 2 x 4 foot space grows sugar peas, lettuce and 7 sunflowers. This also goes to show you that large amounts of space are not needed. There is enough lettuce in there to feed 5-6 people tonight and in a few days it will be ready to be picked again. True it’s not enough to do it for several days in a row but does certainly help in the food budget once a week, and the not so perfect leaves are a happy treat for the chickens and that helps our feed budget. Little things, little steps add up in the long run.

 I’m not going to show you my lettuce patch, because it doesn’t exist! I can’t get mine to grow this year for the life of me! Thank heaven we have a little girl with a green thumb 🙂

But what is coming along nicely and from friends who stop over tell me are a few weeks ahead of theirs’ are the snow peas.

No peas yet but we do have pretty pea flowers! Don’t they look just like a little face with a sun bonnet on?

And we do have Lupin. A friend gave me a single plant about 8 years ago. They seem to love the spot and are spreading all over the flower bed that runs along the stone wall. Last year there were some pink too but I don’t see any this year.

Have a wonderful day. I will be off to work this morning, then to a quick meeting for my class that starts this weekend then back to work, then home in time to cook our dinner and find out how everyone’s day went.

Posted on June 2, 2010, in Family, Gardening, Homesteading. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. My 2.5yo Possum loves spending time in the garden. It is such a great way to spend time together in the fresh air.

  2. The lupins grow wild where I”m from in PEI. After awhile the lupins(in a garden setting) will usually take on the dominant color which is the purple/blue. They are beautiful though aren’t they?

Leave a Reply

