It’s Lilac Season

These are one of my favorite flowers. They flower only briefly for a single week each year around Mother’s Day.

The common purple are our state flower, and the smell is heavenly! A small vase of them will fill an entire room with their scent.

 

The State of NH runs a photo contest every year for their calendar. I have a few I am going to enter this year, just for something to do…

I am allowed to enter 3 photos, but need your help to decide on the 3rd one.

Sooooo… my friends which one of these do you like and would you enter as the last entry.

I’m not going to show you the first two just yet…That will be for another day. But I thought you would enjoy these.

Have a wonderful day, it’s going to be a hot one here.

Posted on May 21, 2010, in All About Me, Crafts. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Lilacs are one of my favorite flowers. I love the vibrancy of the purple (or white) and the heady scent on a humid night.

    The picture of Daisy sniffing, the one with the horse coming through the gate, and the last one are the three I”d pick.

  2. I love them all!! I know that doesn’t help. I really like the one of Daisy smelling them and the horse with his head through the fence.

  3. I’m with Howling Hill – those three tell a wondeful story.

    Lovely photos, Karyn. Thank you so much for sharing them,

    Michelle down in late Autumn in New Zealand

  4. I love them all as well but the one that really jumped out at me was the last one. The beauty and daintiness of the lilacs with the rustic look of the country. Great pictures,, all of them.

    Laurie

  5. My favorite is the one with Daisy smelling the lilacs!

    I love our lilac bush….I have been putting cuttings in vases throughout the house. It’s such a same the blossoms don’t last very long.

  6. Yep, daisy smelling the lilacs. That’s a winner for sure! And all those cute little barrets in her hair? Just adorable.

  7. The photos are wonderful , but I would pick the one of the horse trying to sniff or nip at the lilacs. Have a great day !

  8. What adorable photos..and my 2 favorite things! Horses and lilacs!!

    A wonderful week to you,
    Laura

Leave a Reply

