Black Java Chickens

It is so encouraging to me to see so many questions here about the Black Java chickens and so many hits on the posts about them. They really are such a nice breed of chicken it’s also nice to see that their numbers are improving and the recent talk about the Auburn color showing up in some breeding flocks.

I recently spent several days calling, looking around the internet and reading poultry catalogs. I think the best and most reliable place to find the Black Java this year is & where I am ordering mine:

Urch/Turnland Poultry

2142 NW 47 Ave.

Owatonna, MN 55066

dpurch@netzero.net

Here is the nice email I received from him when I asked what the availability of the Black Java was this coming season:

KARYN,  THE NEXT SHIPPING DATE IS JANUARY 25TH AND EVERY OTHER MON. THROUGH MAY.  THE BLACK JAVA’S ARE AVAILABLE ANY TIME.  THANKS  THE URCHS

Now, silly me forgot to ask what the pricing on them are. I guess in the back of my mind I really didn’t care.

In talking to Strombergs:

Stromberg’s Chicks & Gamebirds
1-800-720-1134 M-F 8AM-5PM CST

I discovered they offer the Black Java and require you order 25 chicks but only 10 of those can be Black Java. The only other breed I wanted was the Delaware and they aren’t offered as part of their special breed selection.  So for us this isn’t going to work.

Another possible source would be the eggbid.com and the the backyardchickens.com There are breeders that show up there every so often.

There are plenty of places around offering the Mottled, and I think the best place would be The American Livestock  Breed Conservancy.

White are still a challenge for me. I did find one breeder sort of local to me (at least she is in the same state). I haven’t had a chance to contact her recently and see how her flock of black and white are doing.

I hope this information help answer the ever popular questions—-Where to find the Black Java.

Posted on February 11, 2010, in Chickens and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. These hens look like out Australorps. I have never heard of Black Java until i read your blog last year.

  2. Nice to see you have a new batch of Black Java’s again K!!!
    M

  3. I came across information about the Java chickens…I am soooo ready to start filling my chicken coop and this is the primary chicken I would love to have. Unfortunately, I am not having any luck finding any forsale or even any chicks forsale. I am in Washington State. Do you know anyone I can order/purchase from? Thanks!

  4. I came across information about the Java chickens…I am soooo ready to start filling my chicken coop and this is the primary chicken I would love to have. Unfortunately, I am not having any luck finding any chicks forsale. I am in Washington State. Do you know anyone I can order/purchase from in my area? Thanks!

  5. Hi, I love your web site !! I too have been looking for javas as well. I know that all o fTurn land’s chicks are $6.00 per chicks and the min of chicks is 25. The s/h is $28.00 or more!! I am going to get my birds from a hatchery in Texas called Xtreme Game Birds and Poultry. They have mottled javas and you can get hen or cock day old chicks. They still have them and they are $3.14 for hens 1 to 24. And the cocks are $2.01 for 1 to 24 cock chicks. I wanted black javas but I E-mailed a man in kansas named monte bowne. His E-mail is javacock@hotmail.com. HE IS SO GOOD!! He gave me all kinds of java info that I did not know how to THANK HIM!! IF YOU WANT JAVA INFO, HE”S THE GUY TO ASK!! And he told me that when you Breed black or motted javas, you will get both colors! IF you breed black javas, you will get black and mottled! If you get mottled java, you will get mottled and black javas!!! You need to ask him for all of the java info. One last thing. DO NOT ORDER FROM : IDEAL, GARFIELD FARM’S SANDHILL AND STROMBERG’S. The last one do not hatch the chicks!!!! And the others are trying to get new birds! Or nobody likes the javas that they get!!

  6. Hello ~ I got Java chicks from Superior Farms this year. They are two weeks old. Do you have any tips on picking out the best ones for breeding stock? And were you pleased with the stock you got from Superior?

  7. Hi Maria,

    I did like the stock from Superior farms very much after that sent me what I actually ordered. First try with them they sent Mottled Java but the second time I did get the black. I would say to take a look at the Java standards you can find them by doing a search on line and picking the birds that most closely meet those standards. I don’t think any 1 bird is ever perfect they are like people… Out of the best I had I would choose 1 aspect and concentrate on improving that. If you check out Back Yard Chickens there is much information about breeding there.

    I can say that the ones I managed to raise to around 6-8 months were looking very nice for breeding. 1 made it through the winter and he is a beauty!

Leave a Reply

