Baking bug!

I have had the urge to bake and bake and bake the past several weeks. I don’t care what just to get the mixing bowls out and the wooden spoon….

Yesterday’s project was Blueberry Buckle. It’s a fairly new recipe to me that was given to me over the holiday season by an old time friend and WONDERFUL cook. I knew instantly this one was a keeper, after all if she knew it off the top of her head I couldn’t go wrong. 🙂

The first batch I took from the oven set to cool and headed to the barn to clean up there for the day. When I returned the boys had whipped some cream and the entire pan was gone. Well there were 4 hungry boys.

Well I didn’t make that mistake again. The next one I put in the cupboard and went off to do my chores. It made it safely until dinner and that was about it—gone before I knew it.

Blueberry Buckle

  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 beaten egg
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup walnuts
  • 4 Tbl. soft butter
  • 2 cups flour (I used white and whole wheat)
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 cups blueberries (I put them in the mix frozen)

Preheat oven to 375 f. Cream sugar and butter, then add the egg, mix. In a second bowl sift flour, baking powder and salt. alternate this flour mix in the creamed sugar with the milk ending with the flour mixture. fold in nuts then the berries. Pour into a greased 9×9 pan.

Topping

  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 4 Tlb. soft butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon

In a seperate bowl combing topping ingredients, mix well until crumbly with a fork. sprinkle topping on top of your batter.

Bake 45 minutes, until golden brown, cool slightly before cutting.

*my note– I used a glass pie plate and found it to be a bit over done and hard around the edges when cooked for 45 minutes, 35-40 worked better in my glass plate.

enjoy!

Posted on January 2, 2010, in Home Cooking Recipes, Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Oh this sounds so good, and just as easy as my favorite chocolate chip cookies. 🙂 I’m glad you said that you use frozen berries, because I would have thought I need fresh berries and would never have tried the recipe. Now frozen blueberries are on the shopping list. 🙂

    I’m glad that you’re getting some time at home again. I hope 2010 is a good year for you. 🙂 Happy New Year.

  2. Hi Karyn,

    I made the blueberry buckle today and took it to a friends’ for our weekly potluck supper. Everyone loved it. 🙂 Thank you for sharing the recipe. I’ll definitely be making it often.

    Debbie

  3. Debbie,

    So glad every approved. It’s a favorite here too.

Leave a Reply

