It’s Cold!

frostIt seems warm fall weather just hasn’t arrived yet. It went from a cool summer right into an even cooler fall. The heat has been on in the house for a couple of weeks now and last night I closed the windows in the barn but left the big doors open.

knittingI have had a chance to spend some time knitting and trying out new knitting skills. My first was a lace pattern as I would like to make small gift bags to put jars of jelly in for gift giving this holiday season. The jelly and jars are so pretty I didn’t want to cover them up completely. I found the pattern here . The problem with the instructions are that they tell you to only repeat row 12 six more times, what I think they ment to say was to repeat the 12 row pattern six more times. Then the next issue is the pattern doesn’t end the same on each end. You will be folding it in half length wise and sewing up the sides. I didn’t have the ambition to figure this issue out.

After ripping it out several times I decided to put that project back into the basket for another time when I have time to try a different pattern. As you can see mine doesn’t look anything like the picture on the pattern.  I would like a more open, lacy pattern than this one after looking at it.

knitting1Next was learning a cable stitch. After looking around at so many pretty patterns I decided on one called a horse shoe, what else would I pick?  I found the pattern here. The cable called for 6 stitches but I changed mine to 3 stitches because the piece I am working on is not as wide.

This got me to thinking and after poking around the internet for a bit found these cute little wraps  and these and this one for coffee cups. What a great idea for this time of year and I think this project will work to make a warmer for my own coffee cup. I will just need to figure out how to add a tab section with a button hole in it to hold it on the cup. I have several horse buttons that would look very cute on this. I think a tie would work just as well and be cute too.

Although it doesn’t show well in the picture the yarn I am using is variegated and I think a solid color yarn would show the pattern better. Next time…

apple pieYesterday I baked 4 apple pies, 3 for the freezer and one for eating now. Most like plain vanilla ice cream but my favorite with apple is coffee. I freeze the unbaked pies in a glass pie plate and when frozen remove it from the plate and wrap well. When ready unwrap, place the frozen pie back into the pie plate and let defrost then bake as usual.

The crab apple tree on the back side of the field is nearly bare now and I’ll take Daisy with me to pick up the wind falls for jelly I would like to make over the weekend. It will take every last tiny apple to make a batch of jelly. Crab apples aren’t very big.

School didn’t happen. Late last week I got a call for the agency and they have a gentleman who needs a home once he is out of the hospital. They are talking the end of this week…. I don’t know enough about him to expect Dick to help him because I’m at school. I am looking at taking the class in the spring once the weather clears up for driving. So it’s good I have someone coming to the house and not so good I had to cancel class and now need to move Daisy back out of that bedroom. She didn’t like the idea all that much as she has been enjoying her new room. We will make her old one special and it will be okay.

Have a wonderful day!

 

Karyn

Posted on October 16, 2009, in All About Me, Crafts, For Fun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

