Forced Changes

skyYes they are here and I’m not sure I like them one little bit! A long series of events has brought me to return to school nights and then looking for employment outside of the farm and away from my family.

I will be off to obtain my LNA license to work in one of the area nursing homes or start in home care for our area elderly. I thought about many possibilities all the way up to an RN licence but decided on the LNA. My current training has covered 90% of this so it won’t require much effort or extra thought on my part. Oh I will put in the effort and work required I just don’t have the energy or commitment for much more than that at the moment.

I am looking at this as a temporary change to bring other opportunities to me, since I know my working outside of the home is always a short term liking to me. Sooner rather than later I will want to come home and do what I do best, care for my own family.

I have been stepping up my efforts to bring income into our home through the crafts made here on the farm. If you haven’t had the chance to stop over at our Country Farm Store, there are some very nice things there. Most recently is the addition of the homemade Rose Oatmeal soap. These are selling fast, so if you are thinking about some now would be the time to place your order before they are gone.

This winter will bring research into the local farmer’s markets, craft fairs and stores. Something I didn’t have time to put much effort into over the summer. I am also working harder to use the Etsy site and our own selling blog. The doing not thinking challenge has helped although I haven’t had the time to post much about it recently.

beetThe arrival of fall and the coming winter are another forced change to always think about around here. It will soon be time to put the gardens to bed for the winter.

I ordered my fall garden seeds several months ago and never got them into the ground. Don’t exactly know why, perhaps discouragement from the poor garden of the summer. But I think it more the fact that I don’t have the energy to put it in. My thoughts and efforts have been better served looking for work and caring for our family. Yes, I know food is one of the first things to think about, but it just didn’t happen.

I did manage to pull the old tomato plants up over the weekend and will spend some time getting an area ready and putting in the fall garlic. I will add compost and manure to our new garden bed and put up the fencing it needs to keep the deer and little creatures out of it. 🙂

daisy chicken daltonSo for produce this winter I will take advantage of the fall frozen food sale and fill the freezer that way. The best choice at the moment. There is still time to plant a few things that will start this fall, go dormant for the winter and regrow in the early spring. fall lettuce, cabbage are a couple of them.

This week will also bring more experiments with the sour dough started I have been playing with for the past couple of weeks. More how to start from scratch at this point that actually using it. I’ll let you know once I have it figured out. It’s not hard, just requires a bit more daily care that I have been able to give it recently. Again my efforts have been more toward long term care for our family that immediate experiments…

Hope you enjoy the day.

Posted on September 21, 2009, in Crafts, Family, Food Storage, Gardening, Lizzy Lane Farm Bonanicals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Don’t be discouraged. It has always been the women that do what needs to be done for the good of the family.

    I just keep telling myself – “I do the best I can with what I have to work with at the time”.

    Don’t beat yourself up over not being able to accomplish everything under the sun. What we do, we do with love.

    Peace

  2. Glad I am not the only one who’s fall seeds are still in the package… oh well, some of them can be spring planting and I’m way ahead of the game for next year!

    Gotta get the garlic in or Glenn will never forgive me thoiugh. We go through copious amounts of the stuff!

    Good luck at school – maybe you can get a job when you are done like my MIL. She takes care of a special needs kid while he’s at school – the hours are nice….

  3. I know it will be hard work for a while, but I’m sure the LNA qualification will improve chances that you’ll be nursing an older person in your home once more. And what a sense of achievement when you get the license.

    2 lovely photos of Daisy with the chickens, they’re just the right size for her wee arms to cuddle!

    Bestest wishes for your sour dough starter,

    Michelle and Zebbycat in Wellington, NZ

  4. Maggie,

    That’s the way I looked at it too…. Do you plant soft neck? This will be the first year I have tried it, usually go with the hard…

    K

  5. nope… I go for the hardneck – it is supposed to be hardier than the soft. You’ll have to let me know how you make out with the soft neck!

Leave a Reply

