When the Rooster Crows

potted sage

This cute little marker my sister gave me for my birthday this year.

That means I was up this morning at 4am, it was a wonderful quiet time, well except for the blast of crowing from Stewie. The house was quiet with a nice cool breeze coming in the windows.

I lit an oil lamp and sat quietly in the rocking chair knitting, working on a dish cloth. The pattern for it is here. I have made several of these and been using them for a couple of weeks. I like the smaller size, they actually work to wash dishes and they dry out nice. That is important this time of year with the heat so they don’t get moldy and smelly. I will get a fresh one every morning this time of year.

I had a chance to look through the fall bulb catalog our Co-op Extension sent. I’m thinking about some of the hard neck garlic they are offering. I already have on order soft neck that should be here in a few weeks. If all goes well I will have the bed ready for them before they actually get here.

I have spent all summer reading about the varieties of blueberries, peaches and raspberries trying to decide which will grow well here. No decision on that one yet.

Just before the rest of the house woke up a huge thunder storm rolled in and started shaking the house, I sat and listened to that for a bit but it didn’t last long because it woke Daisy up. I can see why, it was a good one. So it was time to put my quiet time things away and spend some time rocking in the chair and singing songs before breakfast then off for morning chores.

Routines are so nice but so are the days that start off different then fall into routine to get what you need to get done. It’s going to be a good day. I hope you all have a great day and find some time to do the things you enjoy.

 

 

Note to self: Dick and our neighbor have been watching the Delaware chicks all summer and have quite a debate going as to which ones are roosters and which ones are pullets. Oh’ they talk about it, pick them up and look them all over and watch every time he comes over. So I guess I should break down and tell them they are all pullets, that’s the way I ordered them.

Oh’ they will be so disappointed and I will earn myself 50 cents. I took them up on their bet the other day. My bet was none of them are roosters. In fact they all look exactly the same, some days their combs are a bit brighter or a couple of them will stare each other down, just hen stuff no rooster monkey business. Now the black Java chicks could be a different story, I am undecided about those two. Now what to do with my 50 cents? I’m thinking red embroidery floss to finish the rooster I am working on. HA!

 

Karyn

Posted on August 11, 2009, in All About Me, Family, For Fun, In the House and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hi Karyn

    I knit dish cloths too. Discovered them late last year. Have already made 1 and a 1/3rd of the pattern you mention since I read this post yesterday.

    My Mother (aged 72) can remember her Mum making crocheting them out of cotton string back in the 1940s.

    So Stewie has a loud voice………he is a lovely looking chook, he and his brother have grown into two magnificiently handsome lads.

    care and huggles,

    Michelle

Leave a Reply

