Tiny Cakes

pin cushions1

These have been a lot of fun to make. I can’t help but think about even more as I work on the current one. This started a couple of weeks ago when I was asked to make pin cushion that looked like a flower cake as a gift. pin cushion daisyThe woman put it in a sewing basket and added things like pins, needles, thread, and a tape measure. What a great wedding gift this made.

I forgot to take a picture of the first one I did-it was a last minute idea and I only had 2 days to figure out what she wanted and get it done. It was so popular that I ended up with 2 more orders and now can offer these few on the farm store blog. Here is the link if you are interested.

pin cushion pinkThese are made with wool felt and cotton thread. They are about 3″ round and 2 1/2″ tall. The stuffing is poly but I am looking for wool to use in future ones. I dug in a tin of vintage buttons and think I found some very pretty ones.

I find it interesting that pin cushions are becoming popular again. I think its due to the fact that many are returning to doing their own sewing and mending. This to me is great! For our family a big part of simple living is being self sufficient and sewing and mending is a great place to start. Not only is there the satisfaction of doing it yourself but the savings in not having to buy new or hire someone else to do it for you. Plus that it cuts back or down on things headed to the dump.

What is more fun than having a pretty pin cushion close by while you mend and sew!

LLF CF SM logo

Posted on August 3, 2009, in Crafts, Lizzy Lane Farm Bonanicals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

