Chicken Update

I haven’t mentioned how all the chickens are doing lately. So I thought for those of you interested in the Black Java breed, I would give you a quick update. If your not you might still enjoy the cute pictures and background of this interesting (to me) story. You can read about it here:

The hatching of the first Black Java

My suspition of them being Mottled

Stewie and Dumpling, the Javas. They were hatched here on Easter morning. I had ordered and wanted Black Java. In looking at what they looked like as chicks I thought them to be mottled Java.

The 2 on the left are the Java Stewie & Dumpling. The 2 on the right are White Crested Black Polish chicks.

The 2 on the left are the Java Stewie & Dumpling. The 2 on the right are White Crested Black Polish chicks.

As they feathered out I still thought them to be Mottled Java, and so did everyone else.

Stewie and Dumpling growing new feathers.

Stewie and Dumpling growing new feathers. See those nice black legs and white feather growing in?

But to look at them today, they could be the Black Java I wanted or indeed the Mottled with no mottles on them. They are solid black, loosely feathered birds with a green sheen to their feathers in the light. They also have the black legs with the yellow soles on their feet. So now I don’t know what to think.

Stewie and Dumpling looking very black.

Stewie and Dumpling looking very black.

 

Stewie

Stewie-The white on him in this photo is dust from tossing feed to him.

I hatched more 4 weeks ago, again black Java. I ended up with 2 Black Java. Looking just like Black Java chicks should.

Looking like Black Java chicks should.

Looking like Black Java chicks should.

 

I haven’t decided about one of them yet. It is quite a character and a favorite of the barn yard by all who visit. I think it’s because it is so tiny and odd looking that it hasn’t feathered out completely yet. It’s only about 1/2 the size of the others the same age. This one has been named “Tiny-4-Toes”.  It is very active, healthy and keeps up with the rest.

Tiny 4-Toes, Black Java chick

Tiny-4-Toes, Black Java chick. The white butts are the Delaware chicks.

So here is what my friend the chicken farmer thinks. Since the Black Java were the main variety left just a few years ago, the breeding from those Black Java produced the Mottled by bring out recessed genes of the Mottled from the Black. He thinks Stewie and Dumpling were breed to be Mottled but the Black genetics are dominate in these 2 birds, quite possible 2 eggs from the same set of breeding birds. That in the future off spring from these birds will be black, white and mottled it will depend on the bird.
So his answer to my question if these could be breeding birds, his answer is both yes and no. Depending if I want to weed out the mottled in the future. He also told me since the stock for Black Java so limited this is probably what all the breeders are doing at the moment taking what they can get and going from there with further breeding. He said this is how the newer Auburn color came back. He thinks the Java will just continue to produce all varieties of colors including the white.
As for my decision on keeping Stewie and Dumpling as breeding Black Java I haven’t made that decision yet. If they were to simply increase the size of the flock here they would do just fine. They are good size, agreeable, good foragers and healthy. But for breeding Black Java, I don’t know. Do they fit the standards for Black Java? So many questions to be answered first.

Any one have any thoughts on this?

Posted on July 28, 2009, in Chickens, The Barn and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. They look just like my black australorps-right down to the green sheen. Even as chicks. Could they have been mixed up?

    Bev

  2. I think your black Java chicks make you happy. And since they do then you should keep them for breeding stock.

    I wrote your dishcloth pattern down and plan on making them. Very cute. Do you have a pic of your luffa soap? If I invited you over and you brought me a gift (like you mentioned in your blog), you would always be fondly remembered and invited back again! What an incredibly thoughtful thing to do! I think sometimes we get caught up in our own little worlds and forget to properly thank others for inviting us into their homes and you have reminded us. Thank you for your blog, you make my day!
    Elaine from Texas

  3. It must be a chicken day… I posted pics of my gaggle today too…

    As for the Java’s, if they fit the standards (I don’t know since I don’t raise Javas) then breed them and see if they breed true. You don’t know unless you try!

    Worse case senario you have extra birds for the freezer if they don’t hatch acceptable javas!

  4. Elaine,

    I’m thinking I should keep them as well. I found the breed standards and although I know little about them, the Jave seem to fit the standards just fine. Oh’ yes, I would bring something with me! The loofah soap is here.

    Have a wonderful day!

    Karyn

  5. Hi Bev,
    Do your australops have black legs with yellow on the underside of their feet? How many “tips” on their combs? I like the australporps and looked at them before deciding on what breed I wanted here.

    Thanks for pointing this out to me I will look into it.

    Have a wonderful day.
    Karyn

  6. yes-they are only about 10 weeks old right now but black on the front of the legs with yellow. Their combs are not yet developed but I see 3 or 4 tips on them. Their black feathers are getting an irridescent green sheen and even hints of purple. They seems very curious and friendly so far.
    Bev

  7. Thanks for checking Bev. I will look into this, and ask the chicken guy who lives down the road.

Leave a Reply

