Natural Cleaning Recipes

pineconesI have had this post up for quite some time now and every time I think I have the page looking good I recheck it and it’s all back to being jumbled around. It’s something in the coding on the page that I can’t figure out.

So to fix it I am just going to re-post them all here and since it’s been quite some time since I have looked at the posted recipes I will also go ahead and update them with any improvements I have come up with.

Of course if you have any of your own I would love to give them a try, feel free to post them.

 I like these recipes because they are all made with safe and natural ingredients. The post where I talked about the ingredients is here at Home Made Cleaning Supplies. Most if not all are also vegan friendly.

.

divider

.

Liquid Laundry Soap

  • 1 bar Castile Soap, grated
  • 1 cup Washing Soda-Sodium Carbonate- (not baking soda)
  • 1 cup Borax
  • 1 ounce lavender essential oil (or your favorite scent)
  • 5 gallon bucket with lid
Using a cheese grater, the larger hole side grate, your bar soap. You can also use a knife to chop into pieces and finish off the process with your food processor or blender.
.
In a pot add 4 cups of water and grated soap and heat to a boil, continue until soap is melted. to this add the washing soda and borax, continue to stir until dissolved well and remove from heat and pour into your bucket.
Add 4 cups HOT water into the bucket and stir until everything is mixed well. Add 1 gallon plus 6 cups cold water and stir, stir in essential oil well, cover bucket and let sit 24 hours.
.
In 24 hours remove cover and your soap should be a thin gel. Use 1/2 cup per load to wash.
.
I use a downy fabric softener ball with white vinegar for the rinse cycle.
.
Note:
 
We have a septic system and powders in general aren’t good for it. The original recipe called for soap flakes but here in the US soap flakes are not easily available. There are other recipes that call for Fels Naptha soap, but this has petroleum in it, so I choose to use pure Castile soap. In the past I had used Ivory soap but I now like the castile soap better.
.
.divider
.
Powdered Laundry Soap
Small batch
This recipe works well for front loading machines.
  • ½ cup Borax
  • ½ cup Washing Soda
  • ½ bar of grated Castile soap, grated fine
  • 8 drops of lavender essential oil or your favorite scent
Grate the bar of soap using a cheese grater, grate as small as possible. I have used the large holes in the grater and processed it further in my blender. Worked great.
Mix the soap, Borax, and Washing Soda together in a sealed container.
Sprinkle a few drops of essential oil on top of mixture, recover and shake. Continue until you like the smell. For this size batch I wouldn’t use much more than 8 drops. You aren’t going to get a stronger scent so it will waste your oils.
Use 2 tablespoons per load. For extra large loads or really dirty loads use 3 tablespoons.
.
divider
.
Oven Cleaner
 
I keep this recipe mix in an old jar and just use a bit when needed. I have a self cleaning oven so I don’t ever have that much clean up to do. I also keep a sheet of aluminum foil in the oven and place it under anything I bake that might spill over while cooking.
  • 3/4 cup salt
  • 1/2 cup Borax
  • 32 oz. Baking Soda
  • Water
  • Vinegar
Mix all dry ingredients together and store in a glass jar. When ready to use pour out a small amount into a bowl and add small amount of water to make a paste. Spread it on the oven and let sit one half hour. Wipe off with a clean cloth and vinegar.
.
divider
.
Scouring Pads
 
I have always traded with a neighbor for the loofah she grows, cut them into 1″ thick slices and scrub away with my favorite cleaner. When used up, rinse well and toss into the compost.
.
I also use simple salt and water or baking soda and water made into a paste.
.
divider
.
Toilet Bowl Cleaner 1 cup of white vinegar left in the bowl overnight and scrubbed in the morning.
.
.

 divider

.

Anti-bacterial/Anti-fungal multipurpose Cleaner
 
I am not a big fan of anti-bacterial anything. Germs and bacteria are a natural part of things. I beleive the new fad of anti-bacterial everything is contributing to the ever increasing resisiance of the virus and bacterial infections in humans and animals. Plain soap and warm water with a bit of elbow grease will serve you better.
That being said I now step down of my soap box and will tell you for the occasion when it is needed I use,
 
  • 4 Tbl. Lemon juice
  • 1 Tbl. Tea Tree oil
  • equal parts white vinegar and distilled water.
Mixed together in a spray bottle. Shake before using.
.
divider
.
.
Window Wash also good for the stove and counter tops
 
  • 1/2 part white vinegar
  • 1/2 part Water
  • a splash or two of rubbing alcohol
Mixed together in a spray bottle. Shake before using. Use old black and white news paper instead of paper towels. My friend Mitchell suggested I add the alcohol to help the glass dry faster, and boy he is right. My Mennonite friend usually is about such things 🙂
.
divider
.
Carpet Fresh
 
  • 1 old jar
  • Baking soda (1lb.)
  • 20 drops essential oil
mix together in glass jar. Sprinkle on carpet and let sit overnight, vacuum the next day.
.
divider
.
Liquid Dish Soap- My old Recipe
 
It still works great for me but now I like the new found liquid castile soap. I can get it localy now…
 
  • 2 cups of warm water
  • 2 cups shredded bar soap (I use Ivory)
  • Large pot
  • 2 Tbl. liquid vegetable glycerin
  • ½ cup lemon juice
  • 2-5 drops Essential Oil (I like eucalyptus)
  • 5 drops Tea Tree Oil (Antibacterial)
Mix warm water and soap flakes in a large pot. Dissolve the soap flakes in the water on the stove over low heat. Continually stir the mix while it is heating.
Stir in the glycerin and remove from heat. Let cool until almost room temperature and then add lemon juice (or white vinegar).
Mix in your favorite essential oil and Tea Tree oil. Pour the mixture into bottles and shake well. I have been using old dish soap bottles I got from our town’s recycle center.
.
Note:
 
This recipe will be very thin nothing like the store bought dish soaps. That’s ok, it works very well for me. I also have reduced the amount of water considerably.
If you are having a problem with grease I would use the lemon juice in place of the vinegar.  I personally have never had a problem with grease, I rinse my dishes first in hot water before washing them. Also it is not going to suds all that much, and that’s ok, suds don’t do the cleaning.
.
divider
.
Liquid Dish Soap & Veggie Scrub   –    The new recipe
  • 1 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2  cup liquid castile soap 
  • 2 tsp. vegetable glycerin
  • 20 drops orange or lemon essential oil

Mix together and store in an old soap bottle.

I like this new recipe first because it’s much quicker and easier to make and second because it uses castile soap, and I happen to be in love with it lately.

I also use this recipe to scrub veggies with. One note you want to use vegetable glycerin not regular glycerin.

.

 divider

.

Foaming Hand Wash

What a great invention this is! Foaming hand wash is nothing but watered down soap and by using a special foaming pump.

  • 1 C. warm distilled water
  • 4 Tbl. liquid castile soap
  • 1 tsp. pure vegetable glycerin
  • 1 tsp. almond oil
  • 16 drops grapefruit essential oil
  • 20 drops lavender essential oil
  • 10 drops eucalyptus essential oil

Put all ingredients in a large jar with a lid. Shake to mix. Pour into a soap foamer. This will add some moisturizing to the soap and it smells nice too. You can try other essential oils and come up with your own combinations.

Posted on May 31, 2009, in Natural Cleaning Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. great advice and sharing,I will buy one this great jeans for me .thanks

  1. Pingback: Walk in your shoes not mine… « Lizzy Lane Farm

  2. Pingback: Simple Food « Lizzy Lane Farm

  3. Pingback: Home Made Laundry Soap Revisited « Lizzy Lane Farm

Leave a Reply

