Slow Food

According to the Slow Food USA website, and it’s a great one by the way and one of my favorite. I am quoting and using their own words …

“Slow Food is an idea, a way of living and a way of eating. It is a global, grassroots movement with thousands of members around the world that links the pleasure of food with a commitment to community and the environment.”

-SlowFoodUSA

us ark of tasteSo you ask what does this have to do with any thing? Well it’s a good place to start reading about good healthy, natural food and where to find it in your area. There you can also find the Arc of Taste. Quoting from their website.

“The US Ark of Taste is a catalog of over 200 delicious foods in danger of extinction. By promoting and eating Ark products we help ensure they remain in production and on our plates.”

If you are interested in growing, raising or producing plants, animals or even fibers on your farm or homestead for your own use or for resale, this is a good resource to find what is in demand and has a historical value.

You can also find lists of farms in your area offering these things and their schedules of where they will be and when.

Check it out, you will not be disappointed. The reason I bring this up is this helped me decide on the type of meat chickens I would like to raise this summer and breed for future use. Despite the ever increasing, yet well meant advise from a friend who works at the local feed store (who happens to sell chickens) I am not going to buy any of the cross breeds, big fat blobby over bread, dumb, meat birds who can’t even walk.

dandelion closeupI want a bird that will provide a good supply of eggs, meat as well as being able to thrive in our cold winters without pampering to much.  I want a bird that will sit on eggs well and produce good numbers of chicks. The Java fit these requirements very well but as anyone who has been following along knows they are hard to come by and even despite my best efforts to have some of my own, it doesn’t look like that will happen this year. While I am still trying to be positive about my chicks I ordered in January I don’t think Superior Farms will ever ship the birds.

I have placed  phone calls and emails to them for many weeks now with mostly no response, or any encouraging answers to say the least. This is the first time I have ever tried to do business with this company, so I can’t say for sure if this kind of customer service is the norm for them or not. I can say that I will not order from them again. An honest answer either way will go much further with me than avoiding me. I do read on the chicken sites around the net that many are having the same problems with Superior Farms as I am.

I have done some research and decided the Delaware breed would be a second good choice for us. The Delaware is a much newer breed (1940’s) with many of the same characters as the Java. They are a cross between the New Hampshire Red (a descend of the Java) and Barred Plymouth Rock (an original stock bird for the new blobby meat birds). You can read about them here. Here is where the problem lies, this breed is also hard to find. They are listed as critical on the American Livestock Breeds Conservancy.

You may ask why go through the trouble of such hard to find animals? Well it’s a simple answer, historic, well proven breeds are important to me. I am leary (skeptical) of the new crossing going on these days. I want good old fashion honest food and animals around here. By my raising them I will help is some small way to bring their numbers up and off the endangered list. I can see them as an income however small but not my main objective, and to help others raise their own. A simple thought would be preservation of the past.

I just purchase some Black Java eggs and some Delaware eggs, I’ll be setting up the incubator later this week. Yeah!

 

I’m off now to go clean the barn before the black flies carry me away again today. I’m still scratching from the weekend.

Have a great day.

Karyn

Posted on May 13, 2009, in Chickens, Food Storage and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

