Ranch Dip & Salad Dressing Mix

This recipe was sent to me by a good friend in Georgia. She has been using this recipe for quite some time and is the one at every holiday to dip the veggies in.

I thought I would share it with you to go along with the recent posts about returning back to basic cooking and the quality of the food we eat.

All of the ingredients I found either at the local health food store or the natural section of our grocery store. The buttermilk powder was a challenge but I finally did find it at another local grocery in the baking isle.

Ranch Dressing & Seasoning Mix

  • 1/2 c Buttermilk powder
  • 1 Tbl. Parsley
  • 1 tsp. dill weed
  • 1 tsp.Onion Powder
  • 1 tsp. Salt (I leave this out)
  • 1/2 tsp. Garlic Powder
  • 1/4 tsp. Black Pepper

Place all above ingredients in blender and blend well but not enough to turn to dust. Store in air tight container.

When ready to use:

Dressing:

  • 1 Tbl. of mix
  • 1 C. mayonnaise
  • 1 C. milk

Mix well.

Seasoning Mix:

1 Tbl.=1 envelope of the store brand. For use in any of your favorite recipes calling for packets of ranch dressing mix.

Dip:

  • 1 Tbl. mix
  • 1 C. Sour cream

Mix well and let sit 10 minutes before serving with chips or torn bread. This is the dip often put into a hollowed loaf of home made bread wit the bread pieces served on the side.

 What I like about these recipes I have been posting is that I control what goes into our food and what doesn’t. I like the control of knowing where the ingredients came from and the fact that my family will actually eat it. Part of our problem with basic home cooking is the teenagers some times felt they weren’t getting any of the “Junk Food” their friends were and like to snack. Carrots and celery only go so far. A good bowl of chips and dip once in awhile does wonders for their comfort food.

I like to buy organic when I can, but sometimes it’s just a bit expensive at our local store. I can make other good choices by buying local and at farmer’s markets. I know this local food may not have an organic lable but the farm where it came from only use wholesome feed, no chemicals and practice good hygeine at the farms. This is also important to me, with all the recalls lately for salmonella. Since there are no farmer’s markets around here in the winter this has been difficult.

Well, hello there!

Well, hello there!

The garden will prove to be quite important for us this summer. I have my fingers crossed it will grow well and produce as well as I hope it will. I have been reading the blogs in the Southern Hemisphere and their gardens did not do so well, to much rain. I hope their winter gardens do better!

Now is the time for me to start looking for canning jars. It amazes me that over the winter Craig’s list was full of jars and now that garden season is closer and more people growing gardens there isn’t a jar offered for sale or otherwise. It’s not quite time for the veggie seedling to be sold but boy have the seeds disappeared quickly. I am glad I ordered mine early.

With the sudden loss of my job I cancelled my fruit tree order so sadly trees will not be planted this year. I also have decided to put the worm bin on hold and not order the one I want. I am going to try and use plastic tubs. Reports tell me these work but are messy and don’t work all that well or long term. I decided to go ahead and give it a try and maybe by fall my craft sales will cover the cost of the worm bin I do want.

I planted this rhubard last spring from the co-op order I placed. It came as this swivled up root ball. I didn’t have much hope in that it sat and sat without and growth all last year. Look at the surprize over the weekend. I’m sure there won’t be enough rhubarb this year to do anything with but at least it’s growing. I just love the texture of the baby leaves.

I have decided to take the Doing not thinking Challenge over at Two Frogs Home. My first goal is to complete a craft project for sale every week. The second goal is to work on increasing sales and contact to sell my crafts and baking. This will indeed be a challenge for me. Craft work lately for me it is hard for me to find the time to work without feeling guilty that something else should/could be done more important. I know that it’s not true as increasing income right now is most important.

My niece came over this afternoon and helped me make some strawberry jelly. It turned out yummy and we had some for dinner. We stopped working outside late tonight so we had toast and tea.

Have a wonderful day.

Karyn

Posted on April 26, 2009, in Gardening, Home Cooking Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hi was so happy to find your site. I was also amazed to stumble across your cloth snack bags because I am just now in the process of making some of my own (before I even found yours!). I am going to try and line mine with clear light weight vinyl – we’ll see how it goes.

    I also am thrilled to see that you are being careful about what you eat and what goes into your recipes. I like your Dip and Dressing mix. I have just recently started making my own mayonnaise – this is because I learned that my old favorite brand is using GMO ingredients and it really bothers me knowing this. It is soooo easy to make and taste better than store brands.

    Here is my recipe if you would be interested:

    In food processor:
    1 egg – blend
    2 Tbls vinegar – I usually use cider vinegar
    1/2 tsp salt
    1/2 tsp dijon mustard
    Optional: 1-2 tsp sugar (I don’t add this)
    1 1/2 c safflower oil (you can use olive oil or a blend of both – I find all olive oil is a bit too strong)
    Lemon Juice

    Add all ingredients (except oil). With processor running slowly drizzle the oil in – this works well if your feed tube is equipped with a small hole that will allow the oil to flow slowly.

    Blend until thick. Thin with 2 tsp lemon juice if needed.

  2. lizzylanefarm

    Terri,

    Let me know how the bags turn out I would love to see them. Thank you for the mayo recipe. Some how I thought it was hard to get everything to whip together. I wonder if this will work with a regular hand mixer? My food processor doesn’t have a feed tube. It actually is an attatchment to my blender…
    Just think of the other flavors that could be added…So exciting…

    Have a great day
    k

  1. Pingback: Just the Basics « Lizzy Lane Farm

Leave a Reply

