GMO’s-The food experiment on us we don’t know about!

gmo_noGMO

A friend of mine and I were talking the other day and she was telling me what a hard time she was having eating anything the past few years. What? Seems she has come down with allergies and her allergist has given her a “book” of things she should not eat.

She was reading down through the list and this huge light bulb and warning bell went off in my head. I would say 99% of what she read and added by her own trial and error were on the GMO food list! I told her this and she asked what I was talking about, insisting she had taken the time to read the packages well before she bought them for “added ingredients”. I told her here in the US manufactures are not required to inform us of this fact.

Well then what exactly is a GMO she asked. GOOD QUESTION!

GMOs – short for genetically modified organisms – are man-made organisms created in a laboratory and patented by a corporation or the USDA. GMOs are created by a process called genetic engineering.

I sent her here to http://www.raw-wisdom.com/genetically-modified-food the Raw Food website. I could hear here typing away in the background. Then silence,silence,silence…”Oh My God Help Us!” she is yelling…..She said, Karyn I have to go, I have to read this I’ll call you back and she hung up before I could answer her…

Hours later she did call back much calmer but very pissed off to say the least. I was very surprized that a woman this well educated (she has a BA), is in the social work field, and talkes to 100’s of people every week hadn’t heard anything about this. I asked if she watched the news and she said no she never watches tv. Personally I don’t blame her I don’t watch much either.

I also told her for our family I tried to stay away from the known foods and a great list can be found here. (This is a PDF) http://www.seedsofdeception.com/DocumentFiles/144.pdf  and here http://www.centerforfoodsafety.org/pubs/guide%208_11%20layout.pdf

I’ll let you all read up on it and I’m not going to push my thought on this subject onto you. Other than saying I don’t believe any one should be pushing this onto the public without informing them. Just another way I see our USDA screwing up. I have already told you my thoughts on there ever changing canning rules and recommendations. That they are $$ driven without people’s best interest at heart.

The internet is full of good information depending on which side of the debate you are on. Read both sides of the issue and make up your own mind. Then go back and read the food list and look in your own cupboard! For me this another very good reason to be returning back to basic cooking with ingredients I choose to use and feed to my family.

I will also tell you I made a point this year to purchase ALL of my seeds for the garden from companies who have taken the Safe SeedPledge. Baker Creek and Pinetree Garden Seeds. This will insure I will have good seeds worthy of saving for my family. Many of these seed companies are being overwhelmed with orders so orders are being delayed. The reason for this is the poor economy, people are growing their own food this year, the whole food safety issue (GMOs, recalls).

Here are a few more links to get you started:

I’m sure  you have heard of this GMO issue and maybe even have been following along with the information that is being released to us. If not, so now you know and should be making your own decisions for your health, safety and simple life.

Karyn

Posted on April 25, 2009, in Gardening, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. It’s quite a shock when you realize that everything you are used to eating is unedible any longer. At least that’s how I felt a few years ago when I started doing research. I literally had to completely change everything that I ate. It was tough…because not only do we as humans get food addictions, but I had emotional attachment to foods I’d grown up with.
    I now am so careful about what I eat..making lots from scratch and I feel much better.
    It’s amazing to me what our government lets us eat.

  2. Hi Niki,
    You are so right! I have found that the easiest way to avoid this mess is like you to buy my own ingredients and bake/cook my own food.

    My firend still isn’t over the shock and quite mad. She and I have been sharing recipes. This has been so much fun.

    Have a wonderful day

  1. Pingback: This Just Ticks Me Off! « Lizzy Lane Farm

  2. Pingback: The Value of Food « Lizzy Lane Farm

Leave a Reply

