Daffys for Spring

daffsSpring has sprung, at least in this part of the garden. It has rained off and on all week and the flowers that are up look worse for the wear. But we do need the rain. Lets hope there is rain into at least the middle of May so we have decent hay this year.

Daffodils are one of those easy to grow spring flowers that just bring so much joy to a garden. I had planned on writing about how to care for them today but found this post just this morning and thought it was well written and said just about what I would tell you.

If you don’t plan on dividing your bulbs this year. I know these have been growing here for about 5 springs now. You will know when it’s time to divide the bulbs. They will stop producing as many flowers for you and the ones you have will be smaller. That’s how I know. This year though after they have finished blooming but before the leaves die back I will sprinkle some bone meal around them to give them a boost for next year.

You might be saying, Karyn why do you have trash in your garden? Well those are the burried treasures we found digging around here. They are old Coke bottles that were filled right here in Laconia back when Coke actually came in glass bottles. Some one must have been doing some work here in the past when our house lot was part of the potato fields of the Lane Farm. They certinally were not very good stewards or recyclers….They are fun and I set them out each spring some place new to remind me to be a good Steward to this property. Last year I lined them up around our fire pit/ cook out area and kept fresh flowers in them. In the fall I will bring them in, clean them up and return them to their spot in the barn high up on a shelf. I like them.

You might also notice there are leaves still there too, yes there are lots under that bark mulch. I try to keep things simple and they will decompose nicely by the end of the season. I used to rake them all off, pile them high, wait for them to turn to leaf mold then call all back to the garden. This is just easier for me and I don’t mind seeing a leave or two poking out. We are surrounded my woods so they blow back any way.

rose

Some of the roses have budded out too…. When the leaves have been out for a few days I will take my nippers and cut back the winter die back off the canes. Some say to cut the canes back in the fall. Me I like to know for sure what I am cutting isn’t going to grow, this way I have the tallest roses possible.

I have just about finished up my spring mulching and am waiting for son #2 to help me cut some boards for the cold frame I would like to use this spring. I have visions of fine lettuce and early radish dancing in my head…. The directions for the cold frame are here (this is a PDF). I have a saved shower door I’m going to be using for the cover so mine won’t have to double cover like the one in the picture does.

Getting bigger

Getting bigger

The chicks are so very cute and I like playing with them. Still up in the air about exactly what kind they are. This was taken this morning and they are 11 days old. HA-look at those tail feathers! Their wing feathers have grown quite a bit and so far they appear to be solid black. They continue to eat their mash and hard boiled eggs. I have this week added some grit for them to pick at also a bit of live cultured yoguart. I also left some fresh clover for them. They picked at it and tore it to pieces so it’s hard to tell if they actually ate any of it or not. I’ll just keep giving it to them, they will catch on. If they had a mumma they would be already eating it or at least know it was to eat.

cukes

A couple of days ago Daisy and I planted these “Cuken-numbers” and they have started sprouting already. I planted and plan on growing Boothbys Blonde and Boston Pickling. I don’t have a heat mat to start seeds and haven’t bothered getting out the electric heating pad. I put the in front of the big double doors in the cellar. This is on the north/northeast side of the house so it get good warm light. In my rush I forgot to check if it was a good planting day for these or not, I’ll cross my fingers.

Splash!

Splash!

 

What do you mean don't get wet? I already splashed in the puddles?

What do you mean don't get wet? I already splashed in the puddles!

And of course we took some time to do chores and play in the rain. The little monkey made it out of the puddle and had a good swim in the washer then over the tub to dry off. I think he had fun too…
A muddy nose

A muddy nose

& muddy toes

& muddy toes

Have a great day every one.
Posted on April 23, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Waaahoo! I love to see those daffys blooming. The old farmwife adage says to plant (or set out) a number of things once the daffys come into bloom. Looks like I’ll be putting in my “cold” crops this weekend. (Are you ready for the 80’s thay say we are getting this weekend?)

    Question for you – have you had any success starting & transplanting cukes? From everything I’ve read, they don’t transplant nicely, so I always direct sow mine. I’d be interested to hear if you have success doing it though!

  2. Hi Maggie,

    I have heard that too… wish my raised bed frames were done… I did notice some radish popping up in the bucket I grew them in last fall, must have seeded themselves…how easy was that?

    I have had good luck transplanting cuke plants, I am however very carefull not to toss the roots around while moving them. They may take a day or so to get a move on but have always done well for me this way.

    I’m going to start the calendula seed over the weekend. Hope I remember to check the moon!

    80 just isn’t right but it will be nice to open the windows, take down the curtains and wash the windows, start some spring cleaning. And cook on the grill. The animals won’t like it with so much of their winter fur left on them. Hope this year isn’t like a couple of years ago when it turned off hot and stayed that way all summer and as soon as fall hit it was COLD… I myself like cool summers.

    Enjoy the weekend!
    K

  3. Haha, my son used to say “cute-numbers”.

Leave a Reply

