Back From Vacation

Pier 39, San Francisco, CA

Pier 39, San Francisco, CA

Well it’s official, my husband called me a country-bumpkin! I’m not sure if it’s a good thing or bad?… I mentioned to him while on vacation that I was having a hard time taking pictures in California without people in my pictures…. His answer was “what did you expect?” And to this the answer is I guess I don’t know. While I had a great time and was very happy to see my sister after 8 years. I would not be able to deal with all the people and noise on a daily basis.

The simple truth is, I couldn’t wait to get home. I hated riding in the car, the traffic is frightening, I hated the manners of those “city folks”…never in a million years did I think I was going to get into a fight with a stranger on the plane.

waiting for the trolly

Waiting for the trolleys

I’ll tell you the quick version, and no I didn’t go to jail… We were getting off the plane in CA from Las Vegas. I asked my Granddaughter to step into the isle of the plane it was our turn to go. I think everyone learned in first grade how to get off the bus nicely and wait your turn. My granddaughter was walking down the isle and this rude woman took her bag, hit me with it and pushed her way past me to get off the plane. (I think Mr. Budweiser was helping her)I said excuse me to her, that I needed to go next as she had cut me off and my child was walking off the plane alone. The woman turned her nose up at me and took her bag and began pushing my granddaughter down the isle with it to get her to move faster. Poor little Daisy looked up to see I wasn’t behind her and tried to walk past the woman to me and she pushed her with the bag again knocking her to the floor….well….this pissed off this mild mannered hick from NH and I snatched that woman full of fancy Las Vegas bling by the back of the jacket and gave her a yank backward. I told her she might get away with pushing me but she WAS NOT going to push my baby. (when I retold this to my husband, he said he had no doubt, it was not wise to piss off a mumma hen)Yes, believe it or not I meant what I said…the pilot saw what was happening and walked back to where we were and told that woman to sit herself right down, and to wait her turn. She started yelling about her turn to get off the plane and her rights….I thanked the man for his help picked up my crying baby and left the plane.

Once inside the building I calmed Daisy down and wouldn’t you know it, along comes security down the ramp I just had walked up. I don’t know what happened, I moved on to catch up with the rest of my family. Sooo, my dear friends this is how my trip started…With doubts that I should be off my little farm…

The rest of the trip went well and I had a wonderful time. We went to San Francisco, just across the bay from my Sister’s house. We had lunch, walked the pier, rode the trolleys and people watched.

6 Flags
6 Flags

Spent the day at 6 Flags, rode the rides, ate lots of junk food, saw the animals and laughed alot… 

daisy-and-walrus2
Daisy and her new walrus friend at 6 Flags. She spent over an hour looking at and playing with this walrus through the glass. Every time she would move, it moved with her, completely ignooring everyone else. When we finally tried to leave the poor thing started claping it’s front ?feet?, I could hear it through the glass. It would lift it’s head out of the water and make the strangest noise. When we walked back it quieted down and looked at Daisy. We tried a few times to leave without upsetting the poor animal and finally had to just walk off. I could hear it’s calls for quite some time…This is one of my favorite pictures, I just love the reflection in the glass.
The sight seeing was fun but the best part was:
 Three sisters together again, giggling and whispering secrets…
We had great cookouts and stayed up way to late into the night…
We went shopping and ate ice cream….
We played tag with the kids….
We swapped recipes….
Looked at the garden and fruit trees…
We picked out outfits for each other for Graduation night…(yes!, my baby sister graduated from College!)
We watched movies…and ate popcorn, just the 3 of us on the couch cuddled under blankets…
And of course when I got home and walked into the barn, the familular smells and sounds… When I hugged my husband I knew I was where I belonged. Home from Vacation.
Yes it was a great trip but next time it’s her turn to come home.
~K
Posted on April 13, 2009, in Family, For Fun and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. It looks like a nice time (except for crazy lady on the plane…sheesh) But it is always nice to come home!

    It looks so warm there.

    WElcome home!

  2. Glad you are back and safely. So nice to hear you KICKED BUTT on the airplane. Way to go, you country bumpkin!! I love S.F. But I too prefer home in the country! Great restaurants out there!

  3. Hi! I’ve found your blog through a fellow blogger.

    OO San Fransisco..how I know that part of Cali well as I’m from Novato, CA which is 30 mins north of San Fran. Our family just moved from Cali to a very VERY small town on the north-eastern tip of Oregon so we could get away from all that madness down there. We up and dropped everything to get away and we’ve found a little bit of paradise where we are starting our new adventure of self sufficiency. We are looking for property right now so we can get out in the country and start homesteading. You should be proud of being a country bumpkin! Life in California is just too stressed and too crazy and there are way too many people.

    Can’t wait to read more posts!

  4. Hi! I’ve found your blog through a fellow blogger.

    OO San Fransisco..how I know that part of Cali well as I’m from Novato, CA which is 30 mins north of San Fran. Our family just moved from Cali to a very VERY small town on the north-eastern tip of Oregon so we could get away from all that madness down there. We up and dropped everything to get away and we’ve found a little bit of paradise where we are starting our new adventure of self sufficiency. We are looking for property right now so we can get out in the country and start homesteading. You should be proud of being a country bumpkin! Life in California is just too stressed and too crazy and there are way too many people.
    I must agree though..there are fabulous resturants down there and San Fran is really my favorite city in the US. It’s quite beautiful for a city.

    Can’t wait to read more posts!

Leave a Reply

