All About me…#2…I Love Orion

Orion The Hunter

Orion The Hunter

Orion the hunter and his two loyal hunting dogs,  Canis Major ( Latin for “Big Dog”. The dog’s bright eye is Sirius, the “Dog Star”) and Canis Minor are my favorite constellations in the sky. I see Orion each night as I look out my kitchen window in the winter… I also enjoy Orion’s neighbor Taurus the bull. I think the dogs may be hunting the rabbit (Lepus) that sits just under Orion.

Did you know it’s not your imagination that Orion’s belt has an extra sparkle? Nope there is an entire Nebula there called Orion’s Nebular. It’s the closest star formation region to the Earth. Only 1,500 light years away.
Stop here to see more images. http://hubblesite.org/gallery/album/entire_collection/pr2006001a/large_web

Did you know you can use Google Earth to view the night sky and Hubble images? http://hubblesite.org/explore_astronomy/gsky/

 

Orion the hunter and his two loyal hunting dogs,  Canis Major ( Latin for “Big Dog”. The dog’s bright eye is Sirius, the “Dog Star”)

and Canis Minor are my favorite constilations in the sky. This is what I see each night as I look out my kitchen window in the

winter… I also enjoy Orion’s neighbor Taurus the bull. I think the dogs may be hunting the rabbit (Lepus) that sits just under Orion.

Did you know it’s not your imigination that Orion’s belt has an extra sparkle? Nope there is an entire Nebula there called Orion’s

Nebular. It’s the closest star formation region to the Earth. Only 1,500 light years away.
Stop here to see more images. http://hubblesite.org/gallery/album/entire_collection/pr2006001a/large_web

Did you know you can use Google Earth to view the night sky and Hubble images? http://hubblesite.org/explore_astronomy/gsky/
I always find myself looking for Orion as far back as I can remember, maybe it’s because he is easy to find or maybe it’s the story behind him told to me by my Grandmother as a child, and really brought to life again one day at school complete with slide show by my now very famous teacher Mrs. McAuliffe.

Maybe it’s because when my boys were small we lived on a small farm and our back yard was a rolling 70 acre hay field that ended at a stone wall and beyond that was a nice stand of sugar maples surrounding a small pond. On nights when it was much to hot to sleep in the house we would pack up our blankets, flash lights, drawing pads and pencils and spend the night looking at and drawing the stars we saw, chasing lightening bugs and telling stories. Finally cuddling our sleeping bags under the night sky.
Speaking of Mrs. McAuliffe the name of the Planetarium in Concord is going to change in a couple of weeks to The McAuliffe-Shepard Discovery Center. While it’s true she was a teacher of mine in high school and I don’t know Allen Shepard. I am good friend’s with one of his classmates from Pinkerton Academy. Mr. Sheldon, now in his 80’s, they share the same page in their high school year book. Mr. Sheldon has shown it to me many, many times. I think if I look around I have a photo copy of it, he once gave me.

Take a peak outside tonight and say hello to my old friend Orion.

Posted on February 25, 2009, in All About Me, For Fun. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Just passing by.Btw, your website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

  2. lizzylanefarm

    Hi Mike,

    Thanks, glad you had a great look around.

    Karyn

Leave a Reply

