Felt Food

Felt Food Fun– Tutorials

History and why I did this…
My Granddaughter, Daisy received a play tea set for Christmas, while it is plastic, and not my favorite material it is made from recycled plastic right here in the USA. The company is called Greentoys, the set is very nicely made and should last well beyond her years of playing with it and several children after her. While pretend play can take her in many directions I found her one afternoon tearing pictures of cookies from an old magazine and setting them on her tiny plates. “Ding” on went the light in my head and to the internet I went in search of acceptable ideas to fill her tiny plates. I looked at the esty site and there is a lot of pre-made food there, and looked at the prices of them and decided to try to make my own. (After actually making these felt treats I can certainly see why they are so expensive, and well worth their asking price.)

Materials…
Felt food is made from well….felt of course. In looking around I have found all felt is not created equal and there are many types available. Traditionally felt is made from wool, you can find some great history with a quick search on the internet. I won’t bother repeat any of that because we want to craft and not spend all day reading.

I went to our local craft store and they had the little 9 x 12 inch sheets, in looking at the labels I found they are not wool at all but polyester made from recycled plastic soda bottles. OK not the natural material I was hoping for but it is recycled and made here in the USA. Off to ask the woman working there where the “real” felt was. Her answer, that’s all we have. To make a long story short… 6 stores later, I came home defeated with these plastic sheets of felt looking material. This will get me started and it’s cheap enough I can afford to experiment with it before cutting into my more expensive wool felt.

I will have to turn to the internet for wool felt. Over here at Old School Acres is a great list of on-line suppliers of felt.

Embroidery floss…

I used the full 6 strands. You can use matching colors or contrasting colors depending on what you like. I used a color slightly darker than the felt so it matched yet could be still easily seen. The stitching to me is part of the cuteness. One should also be taking care to make even nice looking stitches even if you can’t see them.
Patterns…
Being who I am I couldn’t bring myself to pay the kind of money everyone was asking for the patterns on line. So things I already have here at the house will have to work, and my own imagination. I would like to mention there are a few free patterns on line not necessarily for felt food but give a search a try with the word free pattern in it.

This is the first in I hope to be many tutorials for everyone to enjoy. I’m sure these are nothing new but my hope is to make the instructions simple enough for everyone to use any way they wish to use them. Make the treats, copy the instructions and pass them along for others to enjoy. I only ask that you do not sell the patterns, take the time to make your own to sell once you understand how it’s done. Feel free to sell the treats you make, but it is my hope you will do as I have done. I made a set for Daisy and have taken the challenge to complete 12 more sets of each and donate them. I’m donating mine to Dick’s Masonic Lodge. Every month we help prepare a public breakfast and bake sale. The proceeds all go to local charities.
Vanilla Cream Cookies. (this will make 5 cookies using the 9 x 12 sheets)

Material & Pattern:

~1 sheet tan
~1 sheet white
~Tan embroidery floss a slightly darker color than the tan (matching if you prefer) I used the 6 strands straight from the skein.
~something 3″ round as a pattern. (I choose 3″ because it fit on the tiny plates just right, but you can make yours any size you like.)

Cutting cookies

Cutting cookies

1. fold the tan felt with the 9″ at the top in half.

2. trace 5 circles.-3 across the top and 2 the next row down.

3. use the pinking shears and cut on the inside of the line, to cut off your tracing marks. (There are washable pens you could use) I used the container frosting came in from the Pillsbury cinnamon buns. I found you could press the container onto the felt and it would leave an impression to use as a cutting guide, this saved me the step of tracing and no pen marks to worry about.

4. repeat for the white.

5. assemble your cookies- tan, white, white, tan.

6. use a straight pin to hold together.

Sewing cookies

Sewing cookies

7. sew using a running stitch about 1/4″ from the edge.

This can be elaborated on by sewing on “frosting” a different colored blob shape, or small beads, or french knots in a different color thread for sprinkles, cut and sew or embroider on cute faces on the cover before sewing the cookie together.

You can use a dark brown and white for oreo cookies. Just tan with dark brown chocolate chips sewn on the top or red, green, yellow for M&M cookies.

On a few of them I cut out from the edge a semi-circle “bite” then sewed around that. To look like the cookie has a bite taken out of it…Daisy thought this was funny.

***Note…I have seen cookies made from sewing to pieces together then stuffed, I personally don’t like the feeling of the stuffing and prefer to build the thickness with layers of felt. But that’s just me.

Have fun with this and let me know if you post your creations so I can stop in and have a look at your cookie creations.

Posted on February 21, 2009, in Crafts, Family, For Fun, Tutorials and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Very cute, I still haven’t mastered the art of cutting a circle with pinking shears, but this makes me want to try harder.

Leave a Reply

