Java Chickens and hatching eggs

I received an email from Superior Farms. They do have the Black Java chicks I ordered and they will be shipped the last week in April or the first week in May.  I ended up ordering 12 straight run chicks.

My neice was over the other day and she was talking about hatching eggs this year, she wants some of her own chickens. Years ago we used to borrow incubators from the co-op extension.  After calling all the local counties discovered for some reason they don’t do this any more. I was disappointed to hear this, many children are now going to miss out on this experience.

So for her birthday I ordered an incubator and 12 Bantam White Crested Polish  (for her) and 12 Black Java  (for me) hatching eggs. They are headed to her house to be hatched.  I would like to hatch the eggs here so my Granddaughter could be part of the experience on a daily basis but I know (from my own experience) the success rate for shipped hatching eggs to be very low. I checked my 3 ring binder (see how handy it is) and the last year we hatched eggs- out of 24 only 8 hatched. We will see how these do and if still available after the first batch is hatched I will bring the incubator here and order more eggs for Daisy to hatch here at the house.

I had said in my last post about the Java chickens I didn’t want to hatch eggs especially such a special breed as the Java.  I still don’t think using the Java eggs to relearn this skill a wise choice but will give it a try and see how we do. I may be sorry later.

Hatching eggs is really a simple process. You need to regulate the humidity and temperature inside the incubator and turn your eggs 4-5 times a day at the same time each day. 3 days before your hatch date you need to again adjust the humidity and stop turning the eggs then watch and wait…. There are specifics to this process but this is the basics. Search the web to find more information if you are interested, there are many great sites out there with great information.

I’m checking the mail each day for our package.

Posted on February 2, 2009, in Chickens, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Oh that is exciting ( eggcititng?).

    We were lucky enough to get our first egg yesterday from our new ladies. There was a strange disconnect. WE buy feed for laying hens and have no eggs so we buy eggs from our neighbor???

    Can’t wait to see photos of the babes when they arrive!

  2. That’s great news, glad the girls have started laying for you.

    Have a great day

    Karyn

  3. My Java chicks should be arriving mid-March! I just can’t wait. I almost went ahead and ordered eggs too. Was there any wait time on the eggs when you oredered?
    ~Rebecca

  4. Hi Rebecca,

    Seems like its going to be like christmas for the both of us, I can’t wait either!

    Yes, I received an email a few days ago, the eggs will be another few weeks before they are shipped. Superior Farm is waiting for the hens to lay better before they ship any. I’m not sure exactly when they will arrive but will let every one know, bet you will hear me yelling YA_HOOOOO over the mountain tops. 🙂

    Have a great day
    Karyn

  5. Hello, I am looking for personal opinions/experiences concerning the Java breed.

    What are their eggs like? Med? Large?
    How well do they lay during the winter months?
    What are their mothering qualities like?
    Does one need both the Black and Mottled colors to get the mottled? Or do you need the white and black? Does it even matter?

    Please email me at: featheredhelpers@aol.com

    Thanks

  6. What a concidence because I was trying to find more personal opinions on this issue today when I found your really helpful post…thanks a million for writing this. I will surely be checking up on your blog and coming back for more.BTW how long have you been blogging? 🙂

  7. Michael C Rock

    Blacks are Black and Mottled are Mottled. I have no white javas so I cannot say what you get when you cross a black rooster with a white hen. The Blacks eggs are large tending to very large and jumbo for us.
    They are easy to keep and are good mothers and tend to go broody at the drop of a hat. I have had a small flock for nearly two years now and they lay all year long. Not heavy layers, but I would say 4 or 5 out of 7 days a week. The Mottled Java is a smaller bird and lays a smaller egg. The roosters tend to be large and very protective.

  8. Charles Sablan

    I love the Java Story, And have a single Chick from a Half Dozen order, on E-bay. Garfield Black with Auburn genes.
    I am looking for dozen eggs, or chicks of the Blacks. Thanks

  9. I have both Black Java and Rhode Island Reds. I have crossed them and the result is the most beautiful bird you have ever seen. Very large birds ( the rooster Cogburn is very large and throws large chicks). The color is black with either a green or blue highlights and of course the red from the red’s. The red can be most anywhere on the bird. The other most striking thing about this brood is that the pullets have very small or nearly nonexistent combs and wattles. They tend to be on the mostly the black java pullets and not the mix. They are docile if you handle them early. I do not separate my chickens so it is impossible to tell if an egg is from a Java or a Red. My only working rooster is a Java although I have several crosses coming along and one is trying to crow. Pittyful sound!

Leave a Reply

