Wool Felt Crafts

felt
Just before Christmas I started looking around at the wool felt crafts all over the internet, and being it’s the middle of winter I have some extra indoor time lately. I have made enought crochet dishcloths to last me, my friends and family a good long time.

In searching the local craft and fabric store I discovered that none of them carries the wool felt I wanted. They do have some made of Polyester from recycled soda bottles. I settled for some of this to hold me over until my wool felt order came in from Prairie Point Junction. I haven’t received such a nice looking package in a long time. All those neatly rolled felt squares tied with jute! This should keep me busy for some time to come.

Kathy's Pink Pig

Kathy's Pink Pig

I first set out to make a pig for my step-mother who lives in Georgia, she loves pigs!

This pattern I found here. It didn’t turn out so bad. The instructions said to sew it right sides together and turn then stuff. I wanted the darker pink blanket stitching to show so I didn’t do that, I just matched the pattern up and started sewing.

I will be on the lookout for another pig pattern for a future project for her. In the mean time I can also see this one with tiny pockets on the sides to hold her sewing supplies as she does her counted cross stitch while watching tv in the evenings.

The flower I didn’t have a pattern for, I just picked up the scissors and started cutting and sewing. I also embroidered a flower into this little piggy’s ear. Next time I will make it a bit smaller because it folds up into the ear.

Little horsesI had also wanted a pattern for a horse and came up with this one here. This is the grey one in the picture. The black horse is a pattern I purchased off Esty.

Next my Granddaughter, Daisy, was given a tea set for Christmas. She needed some play food to serve with her tea. I found several patterns for felt play food, more on those another day.

I was using a scrap piece of felt to hold all my pins I was using and this inspiration came to me. I’m quite sure the idea is not original. But this is my version.

pin holder

pin holder with pocket to hold my scissorsanother one

 

 I will post more soon. Hope you are keeping busy too…

~Karyn

 

NOTE*** Head over here to Wee Folk Art they have a great coupon for Prairie Point Junction…A 20% off one time coupon! How great is that… While you are there take time to have alook around, many pretty things to look at.

Posted on January 19, 2009, in Crafts, For Fun and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Wow! Those are so cute!

    It is nice to have some quiet winter days to work with our hands!

  2. Thank you Karin I thought they were cute too. I am enjoying the season, not the cold snow part so much but the quiet time. We are headed for a sleigh ride this coming weekend so I guess just then the snow won’t be so bad. Sleighs don’t run so well on dirt 🙂

  3. Cute stuff!! The first picture made me say, “Ooooooohhhh.” LOL

    There is a super cute pig pattern here: http://www.marthastewart.com/how-to/stuffed-pig-how-to-handmade-christmas?autonomy_kw=woolen%20pig&rsc=header_3

  4. Hi Laurie,
    What a nice surprize you have come for a visit. I’m glad you like the pig, I liked it too. I checked out the pattern you mentioned and I can see another pig headed to my step-mum in the near future. For some reason I’m thinking a pale lavender this time instead of pink….

    My projects will never comare to your beautiful booties you make. Wish I had little ones…

    Thanks for the pattern link.

    Have a great day
    KAryn

  5. Fantastic site. Plenty of helpful information here. I’m sending it to some friends ans additionally sharing in delicious. And obviously, thanks for your sweat!

Leave a Reply

