Java Chicken Update

I’m still searching for the Black or White Java chickens I want to raise in the spring. I have all my coop plans made and even some of the lumber and the door. I have my heart set on the black.

I do have an offer to purchase adult birds this winter. I can’t because I don’t have a safe place for them until spring. I tried my friends if they could hold them for the winter but their coops are full!

Here is what I have come up with so far…. (updated from my last post in red)

Garfield Museum info@garfieldfarm.org (630) 584-8485-Can’t get them to answer email or return phone calls.

Urch Turnland Poultry Owatonna Minn. (507) 451-6782-tried call a few times with no answer or machine to leave a message.

Darkeggs.com Lists mottled Java-Will be offering in spring 09′ straight run $2.24 each order 1-24 birds. They have a link to be notified when available. Also offering Pullets and Male.

North American Java Club 1498 Mason Bay Rd., Jonesport, ME 04649-no answer to email.

Ideal Poultry lists black and mottled-Will have only Mottled in 09′ ..I have been told but not had the time to confirm this…their java stock is not show quality and you may or may not actually receive true Javas…. that being said it came from a well respected breeder local to me who has ordered from Ideal for many year. He said if you want egg layers or meat they are good, if you want to breed or show they are not so good. (again this is from a 90+ year old gentleman who has raised chickens since he was a young man. so take it for what it’s worth.)

Sand Hill Preservation Center lists mottled with min. order of 10 chicks @ $4 each. –Taking orders for 09′

Strombergs Poultry lists Black and not taking 09 orders until sometime in Jan 09.

Shady Lane Poultry Farm, PO 612 Columbus IN 47201 list Black-looks like they will have black in 09′. But their email said they no longer sell chicks…? if they have eggs.

http://www.localharvest.org/ark-product.jsp?id=164– Check for your local region.

American Livestock Breeds Conservancy,P.O. Box 477,Pittsboro, NC 27312 ,919-542-5704,
http://www.albc-usa.org -List Mottled Java.

Hope my effort helps someone looking for Java chickens. I have read all the well known yahoo groups and chicken forums. No one can give any precise info. on where the Javas are, just guesses or info on where they were a year ago.

 

~Karyn

Posted on December 22, 2008, in Chickens and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. Hi,
    I am looking for Java Chickens as well! They really are hard to find. I did see that Welp Hatchery has some for sale. I have never ordered from them before, have you?
    I was wondering how their quality would be.
    By the way, I like your site. I am working on one as well.
    ~Rebecca

  2. Hi Rebecca,
    That’s great to hear! I have never heard of Welp Hatchery so I don’t know any thing about them. There are several hatchery on line this year who do have to mottled Java. I would like to have the black and white. Stramberg’s has the black and will be taking orders the end of this month (Jan). stronbergschickens.com (800) 720-1134

    Please let me know how you make out and check back here as I will post an update when I get mine ordered. Also let me know when your site is up I would love to stop in and have a look around.

    Have a great day and I am looking forward to hearing about your Javas!
    ~Karyn

  3. Ok, I just ordered my mottled and black java chicks from http://www.superiorfarms.net
    I heard good things about them and I am splitting an order with someone.
    ~Rebecca

  4. Hi Karen and Rebecca –
    I was excited to find this posting as we are also looking for Java Blacks!

  5. Hi Rebecca,

    That’s great news! I just ordered mine from them too.
    Let me know when your arrive I would love to hear more about them.

    Karyn

  6. Hi Gail,
    Isn’t it exciting to find them after looking for so long… I did order mine from Superior Farms. Superiorfarms.net as Rebecca did.

    Of course I will keep everyone posted, I have asked for them to be shipped in late April or early March, we will see…

    Keep me posted on your search and if you decide to order some.

  7. Thank you for posting this info – I just started searching for Black Javas and was wondering if I was doing something wrong….. I can see now that they ARE hard to find.

  8. Hi Jill,
    You are very welcome. They are indeed very hard to find. I think the challange of the hunt will add to the satisfaction I will get from mine. Mine will be here the end of April or the first of March and I feel like I am waiting for some BIG EVENT to get here.

    Let me know when you order yours and post pictures when they arrive, I would love to see them. 🙂

    Have a great day.
    Karyn

  9. I should be having black Java hatching eggs available about May (I am retiring from the military and have to re-build some coops to spearate these guys).

    Just beware that ALL black javas are going to be related, since Mr. Urch is pretty much the only Java breeder left in the US.

    Warmest Regards,

    Dawn
    Heirloom Heritage Farms
    Spanaway, WA 98387

  10. lizzylanefarm

    Hi Dawn,
    I would be very interested in hatching eggs. I’ll check in with you then.

    I have some hatching eggs on order from Superior Farms, I ordered them weeks ago but haven’t seen them yet. I should check to see where their stock came from and how long ago. I have read that, and even the Garfield flock is original from Mr. Urch.

    Thanks,
    Karyn

  11. Hi Karyn,
    I found a small chicken at a gas pump today on my way home. Research indicates it might be a mottled java (not sure what sex). Great dispositon; wouldn’t leave my side. Once confirmed I plan to start a breeding flock.

    Jeff

  12. lizzylanefarm

    Hi Jeff,

    Wow, how great is that! When we were young and had chickens people would often just leave birds off in the yard. Guess they figured we already had some. One time we befriended a peacock that way.

    Hope it is a Java I will keep my fingers crossed for you. Let me know when you find out.

    Have fun with your new friend.

    Karyn

  13. I too have been looking for Black Javas, however my search is even harder as I live in Canada. I would love some eggs to hatch for this spring. If anyone can help me I would truly appreciate it.

    Mary

  14. Mary,

    I will keep my eyes and ears open for you.

    Karyn

  15. Just caught your conversation’s on the black java chickens. We are looking for them and was wondering how you made out and the best route.
    Thanks

  16. Hi Howard,

    As far as I know and I am planning on ordering form the Urtch/Turnland Farm this year. I had problems with Superior Farms last year and this year my emails went unanswered…

    K

  17. It’s February 2010 and I too am searching for Javas.
    Boy it’s hard to find them.Any ideas?Thanks.

  18. Hi! I have many young pairs and trios available of White and Auburn Javas. I will ship.
    Please email me for inquirey
    Thanks, Tamara

  19. I have Mottled javas that I purchased from Ellen Rockenstock. They are great, huge and gorgeous. Google her name.

Leave a Reply

