Homemade Dishcloths, Soap & Peanutbutter Balls

After talking about my homemade dish soap the other day and the handmade dish cloths I bought it got me to thinking about re-teaching myself to knit & crochet. This is a goal I have had for quite some time, winter will soon be here and so on a hunt for a nice dishcloth pattern to get me started.

WOW-OH-WOW did I ever find some nice patterns! I’m not sure how easy some of them will be for me. I will choose one that says it’s simple and expand from there. I can always undo my work rewind the cotton into a ball and start over again, nothing wasted but knowledge gained. I’m going to start with crochet because I already know where my hooks are, my grandmother’s knitting needles will take some hunting down to find again. (I packed them away for save keeping somewhere.)

 I thought I would share a few with you:

http://www.crochetpatterncentral.com/directory/dishcloths.php

http://inahappycamper.eponym.com/blog/_WebPages/DishclothPatternsPage.html

http://dishclothcorner.blogspot.com/

http://www.knittingknonsense.com/index2.html (This one has some patterns with animals etc. Knit into them)

http://www.knitting-crochet.com/knidis.html (This says the patterns are for beginners)

http://www.crochetnmore.com/openedgedishcloth.htm (This one would be very pretty with a ribbon woven into it.)
A quick search will give you many, many more.

A tip I might suggest:

If you find a pattern you like, print it out and add it to a 3 ring binder. Don’t rely on a bookmark to find it again later on the internet. When you go back to use it, it might be gone. (Ask me how I know this…)

If you are like me and don’t really know how to crochet here are a couple of links with some lessons:

http://www.crochet.org/lessons/lessonr/lessonr.html

http://learntocrochet.lionbrand.com/

http://www.freepatterns.com/content/content.html?content_cat_id=332&type_id=S

 I think learning a new skill or re-learning in my case a valuable resource for everyday living and caring for your family. Crocheting or knitting will give you a lifetime of relaxation & pleasure. You can create handmade items for yourself and people you love. When you give a lovingly handmade gift, part of you goes into it. Your time, talent, maybe the minor imperfections, the yarn and color you choose…even the thoughts and feelings you have as you work are part of your gift.

I also want to take the time and post this recipe for you. It’s the peanut butter balls I mentioned on my Home-Sweet-Homemade Christmas post. These are a great tradition in our family and I usually triple this recipe for giving to friends and family.

Peanut butter Balls

2 lbs. Chocolate bits

2 C. peanut butter

2 lbs. Confectioners sugar

1 lb. Butter, salted, (softened-not melted)

1 square parfine wax

Mix peanut butter and confectioners sugar in a bowl with the softened butter. Form into small balls and place on cookie sheet lined with wax paper. Refrigerate until hardened.

In a double boiler melt the chocolate and wax. With a tooth pick dip the balls into the chocolate to coat them and return to wax paper to cool. When all have been coated, use a small spoon to add a drip of chocolate over the hole left by the toothpick.

Store covered in refrigerator.

 Note:For a Christmas party last year I made these and left them without the chocolate coating. I knew there was going to be a chocolate fountain there, so everyone could dip their own. I simply placed them in a wax paper lined basket and set some pretty toothpicks on the side.

 I also have dipped these leaving the very top un-coated, and I think they are called buck-eyes by some people.

I would like to mention a post over at Dirt Under My nails on a “Simple Soap Recipe“. This has inspired me to take this challenge and finally make my own homemade soap. The directions are very easy to understand. Also here at Muller Lane Farmis a great tutorial on soap making. Between these two I should be ok. I will have to return to Oils By Nature  for a few supplies.

Have a great weekend everyone.

~Karyn

Posted on November 16, 2008, in Crafts, Family, Home Cooking Recipes, Natural Cleaning Recipes, Planning and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Karyn,
    Thank you for mentioning my soapmaking page on your blog.

    I hope it was of help to you. If you have any questions, you know how to contact me!

    Cyndi

  2. Hi Cyndi,

    Yes, the instructions you have are very clear and give me a good boost of confidence to get going on it. Don’t take the page down before I have a chance to print it out. 😉

    Happy Holidays
    Karyn

Leave a Reply

