Apple Butter

apple-butterThis has been a busy week for me so far. After giving things much thought decided to move the blog to Word Press. There are many reasons and I can’t really say anything bad about from where I came from other than my computer made the final decision. Here at WP it doesn’t freeze up like it did.

Any way I was given a good size bag of apples and decided to make apple butter. After I had the apples cooking discovered I didn’t have any jelly jars to put it into. So I went on a hunt to find more. After checking all the stores have decided I don’t like the feeling of not being prepared.

Several stores later I still didn’t have any jars, now what! Here I am apple butter all happy in the crock pot and no home….. I decided to use some jars I had saved and put several in the fridge for use over the next couple of weeks. The rest of the jars I had to be creative on how to get rid of them. Some I packed into my husbands lunch box and asked him to give them to the guys he works with (they all love it when I do things like that), one in the mail box for my mail lady. (She will think it’s a peace offering after I ran her over last week with the wheelbarrow!) and on my way to town stopping at every neighbors to gift them a jar.

I didn’t get to add any of the apple butter to my pantry but did make several people happy and the apples didn’t go to waste.

Yesterday I went with my husband for his laser treatment on his eye. This was his 5th so far and I was sitting at a red light with a sign over my head saying no turn on red and this car behind me blowing their horn waving at me to go. The light changes and this car zoom out around me right through the intersection and flips me off! On the back of the car is a bumper sticker saying, “Jesus leads the way” OK I think to myself and find it amusing. (Must have been late for supper or something)

Here is my recipe for Apple Butter in the Crock Pot I like it because it’s easy.

Apple Butter

Made in the Crock Pot

5 lbs. (enough to almost fill crock) peeled, cored, sliced

2 C. Sugar

1 ½ tsp. Ground cinnamon

½ tsp. Ground nutmeg

¼ tsp. Ground cloves

¼ tsp. Allspice

Pinch of finely ground sea salt

Olive Oil (I use Flax seed oil)

  • Coat crock pot with a coating of olive oil.
  • Combine all spices & sugar.
  • Fill crock with apples and spices, layering as you go.
  • Cover crock and let sit at room temprature all day. (Crock pot turned off) Apples will exude juices.
  • Add salt and stir.
  • Cover crock and turn on low overnight.
  • In the morning remove lid and let cook on high 2-8 hours until wooden spoon will stand up in the butter.
  • With a blender, food processor or stick blender, puree butter. (I use a stick blender right in the crock pot.)
  • Place into hot sterile jars leaving ¼” head space and seal. ( I use jelly jars)

  

Sugar Free Apple Butter

Made in the Crock Pot

5 lbs. (enough to almost fill crock) un-peeled to add pectin, cored, sliced

½ C. Splenda

1 ½ tsp. Ground cinnamon

½ tsp. Ground nutmeg

¼ tsp. Ground cloves

¼ tsp. Allspice

Pinch of finely ground sea salt

Olive Oil (I use Flax seed oil)

  • Coat crock pot with a coating of olive oil.
  •  Combine all spices & Splenda.
  • Fill crock with apples and spices, layering as you go.
  • Cover crock and let sit at room temp. all day. (Crock pot turned off) Apples will exude juices.
  • Add salt and stir.
  • Cover crock and turn on low overnight.
  • In the morning:
  • Press through a sieve or food mill to remove peels.
  • Return to Crock pot remove lid and let cook on high 2-8 hours until wooden spoon will stand up in the butter.
  • Place into hot sterile jars leaving ¼” head space and seal.

 

 

 

Posted on November 14, 2008, in Food Storage, Home Cooking Recipes, Planning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi K! If you don’t mind I may put the link to your blog post in my “Apple Butter” today, As your recipe is for a crock pot and also includes sugar free recipe and mine is for making in the 18 qt roaster oven. I am sure there are lots of people that would like to make a smaller amount also.
    Today I will can my apple butter, did you get to can apple butter this year?

  1. Pingback: APPLE BUTTER TIME! « Heritage Basket Studio & Chair Caning

Leave a Reply

