Back To Baking Bread

I spent the weekend baking and am proud to say made 2 loaves of white bread. This is something I used to do all the time but for some reason let it slip down on my list of priorities. I pulled them out of the oven to cool, was going to take a quick trip to the barn to check on the horses and come right back to take a picture of the bread so I could post it with this post.

To my surprise when I returned not 20 minutes later found both of my boys, my husband, a friend of his, and my granddaughter were all at the table and had started eating the second loaf. The first one was already gone.
I guess the look on my face said volumes. My husband asked as he was wiping dripping butter from his chin what the special occasion was going to be that I baked bread and both boys chimed in. I told them no special occasion and thought to myself it was a good thing as there was little bread left…
Later in bed as I thought about all the good things of the day. This one about the bread made me realize although my time has been stretched thin lately, I need to take the time and do this for my family, they had been missing such a good part of their life and I didn’t see it. My family enjoys simple things in life the same as I do.
As I was starting to make the bread I had to take the time and pull out the recipe, I couldn’t remember it although it had committed to my memory for so many years. Indeed it has been to long… It’s basic and I’m sure there are better ones around but here it is if you would like it. It was given to me by my Grandmother.

White Bread
Makes 2 loaves

  • 6 C. flour
    3 Tbl. Honey
    2 tsp. Salt
    2 envelopes rapid rise yeast
    2 cups water
    ½ cup buttermilk
    3 Tbl. Butter
Measure flour and set aside 1 C. Flour and put the rest (5 C.) in a large bowl, add to that salt, yeast, honey.
In sauce pan heat water, buttermilk, and butter until its hot to the touch. ( 125F)
Stir hot liquid into flour mixture add enough of the 1 C. flour to make the dough so it doesn’t stick to the sides of the bowl.
Turn onto well floured board and knead about 10 minutes until smooth and elastic.
Cover with a wet cloth and let sit 10 Minutes. Cut dough in ½ and shape into loaves then place into greased bread pan.Cover and let rise until doubled. Bake at 400F until done. Remove from pans and cool on rack.
Note:
I have changed the yeast procedure to the rapid rise several years ago. So if you still use the old way of letting your yeast foam in warm water the original recipe told to use 1¾ C. water in the pan and ¼ C warm water in a cup then add to the flour just before the warm water mixture is added.
And my recipe for Whipped Butter
   Whipped Butter
  •  1 lb. Salted butter, softened
     ¼ C. Flax Seed Oil, (I use organic)
     dash of salt
  Whip about 5 minutes with a hand mixer  and store in a covered dish.
Note:
I use flax seed oil but you can use olive, grape seed, almond, or vegetable. Some recipes I have seen add just water but I find this makes the bread soggy unless you let the bread cool. I hate soggy bread. Flax seed oil is also good for you and I like to sneak it into our diet where ever I can.
I also made peanut butter cookies this weekend and here is my Mother’s recipe for these.

Peanut Butter Cookies
¼ C. shortening
¼ C . margarine
½ C. Creamy peanut butter
1 egg
½ C. sugar
½ C. Brown Sugar, tightly packed
1 tsp. Vanilla
1 ¼ C. flour
½ tsp. Baking Powder
¾ tsp. Baking Soda
 
Mix dry ingredients in a large bowl. Cream together shortening, margarine, peanut butter, sugars and vanilla. Fold in dry ingredients. Roll into balls and place on cookie sheet. Press down with a floured fork. Bake 10-12 minutes at 375F. Cool on racks.
Note:
Again I can’t leave things alone. I replace the shortening and margarine with butter. I use organic ingredients when I can.

 

Posted on September 15, 2008, in Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

