Frost Flowers

Boy, Labor Day tiptoed up and right past me this year. I have good reminders that Fall with Winter are not far behind. I’m talking about the colder nights and mornings and the frost flowers. Frost flowers are what my Grandmother and the old timers around here call the golden rod and fall Wild Purple Asters. Almost as on queue the flowers bloom and the weather changes. Fall is in the air.

Reminding me of my summer project list that is still long with things undone. I am a list person and like to see things crossed off to see my progress. When this doesn’t happen I feel like I haven’t done my job some how. It’s been a busy, very wet summer and outside work was difficult to get done. Then I give myself a break by remembering I have a simple life and it’s myself that sets these demands, and the pace of my life. I can rewrite the list and move things around until the stress is off and I get done what I need to.

I have been busy on some inside projects and managed to add quite a bit of flour and sugars to the storage pantry but have also used it quite a bit for other stuff this month already. The sales aren’t all that great lately so I haven’t been shopping in almost 4 weeks. I baked several loaves of zucchini bread and dehydrated several summer squash to use later in soup or casseroles.

Growing up one of my favorite things to do this time of year was to entertain myself by popping the seeds of the Jewelweed. Some folks call it touch-me-not because when you touch the end of the seed pods they burst and the seeds go flying. They always startle me, even though I know they are going to pop, but just the same they do and are easy entertainment for me.

I have a nice patch growing down in the backfield and took a walk down there to cut it and have started drying it. I going to learn how to make some Calendula salve for my Granddaughter’s behind. I’m going to also add the Jewelweed. I found a recipe by Cynthia over at Brambleberries In The Rain. Her instructions are very clear and she took the time to add some very helpful pictures. It’s a very nice blog with lots of great information. I get lost there for hours.
This was something my Grandmother and I used to do, pick and dry the Jewelweed, Comfrey, Purple Clover blossoms, and Plantin then make salve. Time slips by and things are forgotten and this is one of them for me. I need to relearn this skill.
Now I just need to find some local bees wax. For some reason the hives have been on the decline the past few years around here and there are none in town at the moment. My bee keeping friends tell me I need to take a 45-minute trip to Alton to find one. I called the guy and he invited me over to have a look at his hives and said I could purchase some wax.
I’ll let you know how this turns out… Both the salve and the trip to see the bees.
11-3-08 update…how I made my salve.
Posted on September 12, 2008, in Crafts, Family, Food Storage, Herbs. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I am so pleased to hear that you found my Caledula salve post helpful! I appreciate all of your kind words. I read through your blog last night and it is just lovely. I will be back for more! Good luck with your salve. I hope you are able to find the local beeswax. I am actually gearing up to do another post on Calendula as mine are just beautiful right now. Thank you again for the kind words.

    Cynthia

  2. living the simple life

    Hi Cynthia,

    That’s great news, I will look for your new post. I am going to try and grow Calednula in my garden next year. I’ll have to look and find a good supplier for the seeds.

    Have a wonderful day.

    Karyn

Leave a Reply

