The ABC’s of Homemaking

I found this list over at Rural Writing, if you get a chance, stop in there for a visit to read Niki’s list and a few other links to other lists. If you take the time to list your own on your blog, please let me know I would love to see them. This was fun thinking about and seeing what the other answers are. Niki also has some great looking recipes!
 
A ~Aprons–y/n If yes, what does your favorite look like?
No but I should. I need to learn to make some first. Mine would be red/white checked with big pockets.
B ~ Baking–Favorite thing to bake?
Cookies and muffins.
C ~ Clothes line?
Yes, finally got mine put back up this summer after several years without one. I love it.
D ~ Donuts–Have you ever made them?
No but often make fried dough, does that count?
E ~ Everyday–One homemaking thing you do everyday?
Make my bed and do the dishes. I can’t start my outside barn chores until this is done first.
F ~ Freezer–Do you have a separate deep freeze?
Yes, we just bought one. The last one we had I gave away because someone needed it more than we did at the time.
G ~ Garbage Disposer?
No. Had one growing up and hated it! I like composting.
H ~ Handbook–What is your favorite homemaking resource?
Right now would be the internet. But friends, family are my first choice.
I ~ Ironing–Love it or Hate it? Or hate it but love the results?
I iron when I have to. I love the results but don’t find the time to do it.
J ~ Junk Drawer–y/n? Where is it?
Yes, right under the microwave in the kitchen. It hold the scissors, tape, plant markers, pens and that sort of things.
K ~ Kitchen–color and decorating scheme.
Sage green, my favorite color. No scheme only things I love.
L ~ Love–what is your favorite part of homemaking?
Knowing everything I do is for the good of my family.
M ~ Mop–y/n?
How else would you clean the floor? I like my bucket and old rags, get on my knees and scrub away.
N ~ Nylons, machine or hand wash?
Hate them, don’t own any.
O ~ Oven–do you use the window or open the oven to check?
I know it’s bad but I love to open the door. I do have a window and a light but never think to use them.
P ~ Pizza–What do you put on yours?
Green peppers and pepperoni
Q ~ Quiet–What do you do during the day when you get a quiet moment?
Quiet moment?…Not around here. But I would just sit and listen.
R ~ Recipe Card Box–y/n? What does it look like?
Yes, I have several. 3 that were my Grandmothers, 60’s looking metal. Mine is a basket with a wooden top.
S~Style of house–What style is your house?
Ours we built 6 years ago, ranch, New England style.
 
T~Tablecloths or Placemats?
Yes, both! Only cloth will do.
U ~ Under the kitchen sink–organized or toxic wasteland?
Organized, very clean and under lock and key. I have a 2 year old in the house.
V ~ Vacuum–How many times per week?
Run the vacuum once a week and the carpet sweeper every day. The broom is my best friend since we only have one area carpet and all hard wood floors.
W ~ Wash–How many loads of laundry do you do per week?
3 every day. Washed, hung to dry folded and put away.
X‘s–Do you keep a daily list of things to do that you cross off?
Absolutely, the house wouldn’t run without it, my memory isn’t that good.
Y ~ Yard– Who does what?
I clean the barn everyday and feed the animals, I don’t really like help, this is my quiet time to think. I do the gardening and my Husband does the mowing of the grass.
 
ZZZ’s–what is your last homemaking task for the day before going to bed?
Double check everyone is tucked in nice and warm and give them a kiss goodnight and check the doors are locked. Homemaking task would be to bring our coffee cups to the sink wash them out and put away. Then fill the coffee pot for morning to be turned on.
Posted on August 22, 2008, in For Fun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

