Seed Starting

Seed starting this year will be in a few short weeks. Last year I used the square 6-pack seedling pots with less than desirable results. After a few weeks of growing they needed to be transplanted into a larger pot, and I needed to do it all one more time before moving them to the garden.

This year I am hoping to avoid all that time wasted in re-potting, and try starting the seeds directly into the pot size I will need and put the whole thing into the garden. 2 1/2″ pots seems to be the answer for me. I have a few peat pots left from last year and will use those up but I’m trying to avoid another trip to the feed store for more.

For some reason everyone I talk to uses the same pot-repot method and I ask myself why? No one had the answer for me other than that’s the way it’s done. Hummm… Looking on line at many of my favorite blogs they do it the same way too…

I found this video using newspaper to make my own pots. I know it’s not a new idea and there is info all over the web about making them.  In fact when the boys were small newspaper pots we used all the time. Now 20 something years later I couldn’t remember how I did it. I couldn’t find the exact pots we used to fold but these seem like they will work great. I spent several hours trying to follow the directions on line I found, all I can say is the directions or video I found were very frustrating until I found this one.

Great and wonderful, except it seems our local newspapers are an odd size and when my pot was completed I didn’t have the tab at the top to fold over. So I discovered I need to rip about 2″ off the long side and I end up with the needed tabs. Now my pots are smaller but will still work.

Then my friend came over and saw me making these and asked why I am going through all the trouble folding and ripping paper. She took a glass from the cupboard and in a matter of seconds produced a very usable pot. I found this video, exactly how my friend had done hers. WOW! Who knew, well actually many of you probably already knew this, Some times I’m the last to know!

After filling them with soil and getting them wet a few times I’m thinking round pots into a rectangle tray will not be a problem as they will form their own shape. I know the peat pots I used last year did.

So there you have it the beginnings of this years experiment for me. Also I am going to try an interesting method of direct seeding using homemade seed mats using think napkins. Here are very nice directions from a blog I enjoy. She has such a pretty picture perfect garden.

I’ll write about the results later in the season. They are very simple to make and I spaced these in alternating rows to take advantage of the garden space we will have vs straight rows.

In this photo the napkins look very large but they really aren’t there are several stacked together  so I can store them until it’s time to put them in the garden. I made a point to note right on the napkin all the info I will need later such as the variety, planting depth, mature size of the plant.

These are the new paper punches I mentioned a few days ago. After much time trying to print round labels for our salves and soaps I printed them out on an 8.5 X 11″ sheet of label material and used the punches to punch exactly where I wanted to. Works like a charm. The only draw back to these punches I can find is that the section you want to punch needs to be right on the edge of the paper because the punch doesn’t have lots of room to slide it into the paper very deep. It’s ok for what I am doing with them but if someone wanted a nice round hole in the middle of their paper without a fold it wouldn’t work at all. I’m very happy with them. These came from Joann Fabric and at the time were 40% off, making them very affordable.

Posted on March 6, 2010, in Crafts, Gardening, Saving Seeds, Tutorials and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. for some reason I can’t see the video. Would you mind emailing me a link? Thank so much! I’m getting ready to get my sprouts ready as well.

  2. i maight be able to offer you some insight as to why the potting up method is used. Several types of seedling to not need to be and should not be transplanted in to a larger container after being started. This causes the plant to be set back and damages their fine root systems. Two varieties that benifit and need to be potted up are Tomatoes and pepper plants. Reson being this encourages new root growth and a stronger root system. A tomatoe seedling should not be potted up until it has 2 sets of TRUE leaves. Then plant it in a slightly larger pot and plant in deeper than it was previously. This promotes new root growth from the side shoots on the stem. This develops a very strong root system They should be potted on agian after they have 3 sets of true leaves and deeper agian for the same reason. When planting these in to the garden or to the final growning place they should have the bottom two sets of leaves removed and planted beneath that point. Tomatoes are heavy feeders and require very deep roots.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 127 other followers

