Baking bug–continued

Another baking project that I mentioned a few days ago. English Muffins. I have made about 6 batches over the past couple of weeks and it’s time to make more already. This is what is left after breakfast this morning, 2 out of 12…. They were yummy with some of the dandelion jelly I made this summer.

A batch makes about 20 muffins for me. I freeze them, then bag them to be used as wanted. I found that do not set on the counter past 2 days before they weren’t good to eat. Freezing them was the answer, they thaw on the counter in about 10 minutes. When fresh-baked I keep around 6-10 out in a glass bowl covered with a hand towel. I have been using the cereal box liners. They are holding up well and are easy to wash and dry off.

I found these also make great mini pizzas! Especially with fresh home-made mozzarella cheese. We were given some as a gift over the holidays. Now I HAVE to make my own, puts the store-bought to shame and I would imagine it will be cost effective too. I was just talking with the woman who made the cheese that she makes it using 3 gallons of fresh raw milk. That out of that same 3 gallons she is also able to make ricotta cheese and gets about 1/2 pound of fresh butter. Now that’s getting your money’s worth out of a few gallons of milk!

She also told me there are several ways to make the mozzarella cheese but her favorite and most predictable was to use bought cultures. She suggested Leeners to me. I will look into it. Learning to make dairy products has been a goal of mine for a couple of years now.

Remember when I was making butter milk and sour cream ? I still do make it but found we didn’t use it even in baking fast enough. So I stopped for a while.

English Muffins

  • 1 1/2 cup powdered milk
  • 3 Tbl sugar
  • 1 Tbl. salt
  • 3 Tbl. shortening
  • 3 cups hot water
  • 2 Tbl. active dry yeast
  • 3/8 tsp. sugar
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 6 cups flour

In first bowl combine milk, 3 Tbl. sugar, 1 1/2 tsp salt, shortening and hot water. Stir well until milk and sugar are dissolved and shortening has melted. Set aside.

In small second bowl:

Combine yeast, 3/8 tsp. sugar and 1 cup warm water. Stir and let yeast do it’s thing…it will be bubbly. add this to the sifted flour.

combine flour with the milk mixture and stir well. Cover with a warm damp towel and let rest for 30 minutes.

Get your griddle hot, or your cast iron frying pan. Give it a light coat of butter so your muffins won’t stick. Once ready drop about 1/2 cup on griddle and let cook each side 7-8 minutes. Cool on a rack.

It was suggested to me to cover the muffins with a pan lid while cooking, I never have and have had no problems with them cooking. I did find that if you try to eat these while still warm you will think they aren’t cooked and be sticky in the middle. They really are cooked but need to cool before toasting them.

It was also suggested that if I want perfectly round muffins to use a clean tuna can as a ring with the bottom of the can cut out. Me, I like lop-sided and I looked at our tuna cans, the bottom of the can is rounded and won’t cut off the can with an opener. (Sort of like the new soda cans). But I bet if you had rings for pancakes these would work. This is really a bread dough constancy, not like pancake batter.

Hope you try these, enjoy!

Posted on January 3, 2010, in Food Storage, Home Cooking Recipes, In the House and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Thank you so much for this recipe. We eat a lot of store bought English Muffins with our home grown eggs on them. This is a bonus recipe to have around.

    I also wanted the comment on a post you made a few days ago on corn and corn products. We don’t grow corn because it requires chemicals to keep them pest free and 80% of North American corn is genetically modified. We do however grow organic grain. The tricky part about growing organic products is that the farm next to you might use herbicides and pesticides. To be 100% organic you need a lot of land. Bees, wind, water sources all transfer into the organic fields and case them really not to be organic if tested. Corn though has changed its natural state and is no longer the corn we use to know. The reason being, Methanol. Corn is being produced in North America for our vehicles, not for consumption. But what is good for the goose and good for the gander. If they can sell to humans as beautiful eating corn they can get away with it.

    Bad part is even your local farm stand has genetically altered corn. You have to live with the idea. Just like we have to live with the results of plastic. It is in, on, around everything. Corn too is in many products. Just check your condiments in the fridge. But don’t freak out, there are worst things for you then eating some corn bi-products.

  2. Hi Marlyn,

    So glad to see you here!
    You are so right, it is hard to keep organic, organic…Something we struggle with here too. I will happily purchase corn with a boorer or two in it over something that has been sprayed to keep it perfect. At least I know if there is a pest or two it’s safe to eat. :)

    I sure do know corn is in many commerical products. I also know there are a few things I can, and do do to do my best to keep this GM food out of our home. Our fridge is full of homemade condiments and our cupboards full of wholesome ingredients. Not prepackaged preservative filled immitations of natural food.

    I know from our local farm stand that the corn they plant has been purchased from supplies who sell non GM seeds. And that several times each year those seeds are tested for GM materials. Now I realize it’s not fool-proof but it’s better that starting with a GM seed.

    The other thing I can do is purchase organic corn/soy products again it’s better than not even trying.

    There hasn’t been enough study/time in my mind to make a blanket statement…GM food is safe… I don’t know that there are worse things…I guess my big problem is WHY? What was wrong with food the way it was?

    You are right, it may be a tough battle like plastic but I can always be aware of my choice in purchase and do my best to keep it to a minimum. I say that as I sit here using a computer made of plastic. :) But most things around us are not. IT’s all just choices.

    I think you will like the muffin recipe. Our family has been eating them for the past few weeks and not tired of them yet :)

    How is the weather in your area? We have had snow for the past 4 days with more to come over the weekend.

    Karyn

  3. Debbie Richards Savannah,ga

    All I have to say is that this has to be the MOST amazing site I have ever landed at:) You all are truely amazing and loving people. It just shows thro your writing and SHARING so careingly. Hope that is a word.lol…it is now.:) I see so much and don’t know what I want to try 1st. But due to my parents and my luv of english muffins…I will here. And send this on to my mom too.

    We used to live in Tn on a farm with 3 children. 5 horses,4 pigs(adopted cuzz mamas home burned down,she adopted us and happened to be preg at the time. I being a true “California Girley Girl:), thought she was a wild BOAR, reading to kill me at any 2nd. I had gone up to feed the horses and chickens. Oh yes, chickens too. LOTS of em!;) Anyway, back to my wild boar…I found a big peice (LARGE) of sheet medal and backed all the way back to my house. Called my hubs frantic about the wild boar. About to kill me…hahaha…yep…drama. He was home(50 mi.)in about 20 minutes. Guns a blazing. Not really, but they did have for “just in case of attack”. Needless to say, I never lived that one down.

    We even raised one of the ckicks as a “pet”. I think it was really the other way around though.;)We would go in to feed and she would jump up to our arm and ride on our shoulder;)

    We had huge gardens always, and I learned to can every and anything homemade. Right down to sausage my granny taught me. My Strawberry Jam was so so good. The wild Racoons especially. Yes, hubs would sneak jars to share with them. So I guess you could say they were “pets” too. And dogs andmany kittens also lived there.

    Our illnesses finally took it away from us. But now without a hard fight. We miss that life terribly. My son moved us here after I got Graves and also had to have radiation for multiple nodules. He came home on leave and wanted us by him when he returned from Iraq a couple months later. We will forever miss and grieve that life I think. Sissy Prissy California Girl still is all that, but so so much more;)

    Many Blessings to you and your family;) I will live vicariously thru you.

  4. Debbie Richards Savannah,ga

    Please Forgive my spelling mistakes above. Oh, my, need to proof read! I ALWAYS SAY THAT AND DON’T! I graduated with an A+ in spelling/English too.lol sheesh!

  5. Debbie Richards Savannah,ga

    Sorry, one more thing. Bugs, nice and all DESPISE Peppermint essential oil. I know it works for the house amazingly. Mix up in a spray bottle and shake well….then spray. I don’t see why it would not be safe for corn? Or would it effect taste at alll? I also read last week about melting homemade soap and spraying underside of leaves in the garden. Try a google on that one tho. Because I cannot be 100% certain.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 126 other followers

