Rosemary

Rosemary

Rosemary

What a lovely herb and I am fascinated by it lately. When I went to CA to visit with my youngest sister one of the first things I noticed is this stuff is growing every where. This is some that was growing down off a balcony over the edge and covering a sign below. She had an actual hedge of Rosemary growing and she saves it when she trims the hedge then uses it to smoke her meals when she uses the barbecue.

Here is a nice recipe for bread. I have made this a few times, I simply shaped the dough and let it rise about 45 minutes, brushed the top with olive oil and sprinkled on Parmesan cheese. Baked for about 15 minutes on a stone. We tore it into chunks and ate with garlic infused olive oil. This recipe also uses fresh herbs but I used dried. I increased those to 2 tsp. each

Rosemary Herb Bread

  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 cups bread flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon chopped fresh rosemary
  • 1 teaspoon chopped fresh thyme
  • 1 teaspoon dried marjoram
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons margarine
  • 2 teaspoons active dry yeast
  • How about trying Rosemary infused olive oil over popcorn? We had some at my sister’s house and it was delicious.

    I was doing some reading about the medicinal properties and found Rosemary has healing properties of being pain relieving, restorative, stimulating, anti-bacterial, decongestant, diuretic and anti-fungal. Rosemary is used in the treatment of muscular pain, rheumatism, circulation problems, mental fatigue, nervous exhaustion, cellulite, arthritis, colds, bronchitis, fluid retention, sinusitis and is suitable for dry, mature skin and acne. People with high blood pressure should not use it.

    What a nice plant, too bad it is an annual around her but maybe worth starting it every year. Something to think about.

    Posted on April 22, 2009, in Herbs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

    1. Hey Karyn – thanks for stopping by! I told Hilde that those colors make me think of San Antonio TX, one of my favorite cities.

      The ladies at the dollar store down town say that rosemary keeps crickets away, they have it planted all in front of their store. Crickets invade around August here.

      And that bread with the garlic infused oil sounds great! I’m think i’ll try that recipe this weekend. Does your oil have a garlic clove that just stays in it or do you heat them together and bottle it without the garlic?

    2. Hi Cheryl,
      Yes I have a bottle with the cloves that just hang out in it, when the bottle get to be about 2/3rds gone I will fill again with a couple of cloves. Crickets? that sounds interesting. We have crickets but they are never a bother unless the windows are open in the summer and you are trying to sleep :) I will keep that in mind. Wonder if it would work on ants too?????

      Thanks for stopping I will be back to your site to continue to look around.

      Karyn

    3. That sounds absolutely wonderful! I’m a beginner at bread making so please forgive my couple of quick questions. Did you disolve the yeast in the milk first? Does it need to be kneaded?

    Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 119 other followers

